This is the "Home" page of the "Career Exploration Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask a librarian

WCSU Libraries

Career Exploration Resources  

Last Updated: May 10, 2010 URL: http://libguides.wcsu.edu/careers Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
Call Number: HF5381 .E52 2005
v. 1. Career guidance and career field profiles -- v. 2. Career articles, A-C -- v. 3. Career articles, D-I -- v. 4. Career articles, J-Pho -- v. 5. Career articles, Phy-Z

Cover Art
How to Get a Job in the USA - Nara Venditti
Call Number: HF5382.7 .V36 2006
This book explains the job search process in the USA and shows how the American job search and interviewing culture differs from other countries. It provides practical advice on what to do and what to say every step of the way in your job search.

Cover Art
What Color is Your Parachute? - Richard Nelson Bolles
Call Number: HF5382.7 .B66 2008
The things school never taught us about the job-hunt -- When the unexpected happens: how to deal with change -- Resuming the search to find your dream

Cover Art
Career wisdom for college students : insights you won't get in class, on the Internet, or from your parents - Peter Vogt
Call Number: HF5381 .V58 2007
Pt. I. Take a look around, a real look around! -- Pt. II. Be careful of what you think you know! -- -- Pt. III. Build your skills and experience through hands-on activities -- Pt. IV. Land the job you really want -- -- Epilogue. There is no need to go it alone : 10 reasons to visit your campus career center

Online Guides and Resources

  • O*Net Online
    The O*NET system serves as the nation's primary source of occupational information, providing comprehensive information on key attributes and characteristics of workers and occupations. The O*NET database houses this data and O*NET OnLine provides easy access to that information.
  • CareerPath
    A career resource center that will assist you in making the right career decisions. Assistance is provided with career tests, advice and resources. A subsidiary of CareerBuilder.com.
  • Career OneStop
    From the US Department of Labor. Provides overview of high growth, high demand industries, including th "Top 50 In-Demand Occupations." Includes a special section for students and career advisors.
  • Riley Guide
    The Riley Guide introduces you to the online job search, listing many online sites and services that are useful for your job search. We do not post jobs nor resumes but instead point you to the places that do.
  • Career Advice from Monster.com
    Just what it says.
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
    A nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.
  • Career Management from BusinessWeek
    Blog posts, advice columns, essays from experts in the field.
  • Job Hunters' Bible
    Online companion to What Color is your Parachute?. (see book below)
203.837.9100 (Haas) | 181 White Street, Danbury, CT 06810 | 203.837.9139 (Young)
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip