Archives & Special CollectionsCurriculum CollectionGovernment ResourcesSerials/PeriodicalsWestCollectionsHaas LibraryYoung Library
Library Liaisons
Acquisitions & CatalogingArchives & Special CollectionsCirculationCopyright PoliciesEmployment OpportunitiesInterlibrary LoanLibrary InstructionPlagiarism (and how to avoid it)Public Workstation Use PolicyReference ServicesSerials/PeriodicalsStudy Rooms & Viewing RoomsSystemsWireless NetworkLibrary Mission Statement
Online Suggestion BoxResearch Consultations
Asked & AnsweredMaps & DirectionsPIN CodesSSL WarningsConnecting from off campusERes Info for FacultyFinding Items in Haas LibraryRemote Access to Library Resources
This is the "Home" page of the "About the Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask a librarian

WCSU Libraries

About the Libraries  

Basic information about library services, staff, and resources.
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wcsu.edu/about Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Haas Library (midtown)

Spring 2014 - January 13, 2014 through May 11, 2014

Monday - Thursday 8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday 2:00 PM - 10:00 PM

 

Exceptions to Regular Hours

Friday, February 14 - Monday, February 17 CLOSED (Presidents' Holiday)
Saturday, March 15 and Sunday, March 16 CLOSED (Spring Break)
Monday, March 17 - Saturday, March 22

SPRING BREAK HOURS:
Monday - Thursday, 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday, 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday, Closed

Friday, April 18 CLOSED (Day of Reflection)
Saturday, April 19 - Sunday, April 20 CLOSED (Easter Weekend)
Monday, May 5 - Thursday, May 8 EXTENDED EXAM HOURS: 8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday, May 10 - Sunday, May 11 CLOSED (Commencement)

HOURS SUBJECT TO CHANGE.
 

Young Library (westside)

Spring 2014 - January 13, 2014 through May 11, 2014

Monday - Thursday 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday - Sunday CLOSED

 

Exceptions to Regular Hours

Friday, February 14 - Monday, February 17 CLOSED (Presidents' Holiday)
Monday, March 3 - Thursday, March 6 EXTENDED EXAM HOURS: 9:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Monday, March 17 - Thursday, March 20 SPRING BREAK HOURS: 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Monday, April 28 - Thursday, May 1
Monday, May 5 - Wednesday, May 7
EXTENDED EXAM HOURS: 9:00 AM - 9:30 PM

HOURS SUBJECT TO CHANGE.
 

Full Academic Year Hours

 

Follow Us!

Research Toolbox

Tools you will need to take advantage of the resources and services offered by WCSU Libraries:

  1. WestConnect Card - This is your university ID card.  Your student identification number is encoded in the card, but is not printed on the card itself for your security.  You will need this card to check out books from WCSU Libraries, obtain a Windows account, and PRINT in the libraries and computer labs. 

  2. Windows Account - Every registered student is eligible to obtain a special Windows account, allowing access to networked computers on campus and to space for storing documents on the University's H drive. This will also serve as your log in account for off-campus access to the library databases (articles).

  3. Alternative Authentication - There is a second path for authentication when accessing databases from off campus if your Windows account did not work using your student ID and Library PIN (see below).

    • Student Identification Number - This is the same number as your Banner ID Number.  Make sure you know this number or carry it with you in a secure place.  It can also be found on official documents such as your course schedule issued by the Registrar. (starts with 50...)

    • Library PIN - The Library PIN is a password of your choosing that you can set in the library catalog (http://www.consuls.org/patroninfo). When accessing databases from off campus, the system will prompt you to enter your student identification number (see above) and this PIN before you start searching.  The Library PIN and Internet access are all you need to obtain full text research articles from home!

      
     

    Mission Statement

    Western Connecticut State University Libraries

    Mission Statement 

    The library faculty and staff of Western Connecticut State University are committed to providing high quality academic library services and to enduring access to collections in a variety of formats.  Information resources are designed to meet the curricular, intellectual and professional needs of students and faculty and are intended to enhance the learning outcomes and teaching environment of the university.  To accomplish this mission the libraries seek to:

    • Promote academic success and lifelong learning through instruction in information seeking strategies and through selection, access, evaluation, and synthesis of information resources
    • Provide the highest quality of information and library services by regularly evaluating and adopting improved information models and technologies.
    • Collaborate and engage with faculty, students and administrators to insure that information and library services and spaces address the needs of our users.
    • Cultivate opportunities to partner with and support students, faculty, and community members engaged in research and creative activity.

     

    Endorsed by the Library Faculty and Library Director February 14, 2013.

    203.837.9100 (Haas) | 181 White Street, Danbury, CT 06810 | 203.837.9139 (Young)
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip