Caldecott Winners at WCSUNewbery Award WinnersCoretta Scott King Award WinnersPura Belpre Award Winners(Seuss) Geisel Award WinnersMildred Batchelder Award WinnersAesop Prize WinnersAfricana Book AwardAmericas Award
Teaching Kits
Music EducationTeaching WritingTeaching ReadingTeaching MathematicsTeaching ScienceTeaching Biological ScienceTeaching Social StudiesSpecial EducationClassroom ManagementHealth EducationBibliotherapyBack to SchoolMagic School BusBanned and Challenged BooksBooks on HalloweenESL/ELL/Bilingual
Dewey Decimal ClassificationLibrary of Congress Classification
This is the "ESL/ELL/Bilingual" page of the "Curriculum Collection at WCSU" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask a librarian

WCSU Libraries

Last Updated: Jun 19, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wcsu.edu/curriculum Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

ESL/ELL/Bilingual Print Page
  Search: 
 

ESL/ELL/Bilingual Web Resources

CMC/EBSS Webliography: ESL/ELL/Bilingual Web Sites

 

Selectors: Jeannie Kamerman & Genevieve Innes

 

General

 

Larry Ferlazzo's Websites of the Day for Teaching ELL, ESL, and EFL  

Larry Ferlazzo is a high school teacher of English Language Learners in Sacramento California, and he maintains this blog and website.  He provides an abundance of ELL, ESL and EFL teaching materials, resources, and ideas.  He also shares information and his informed views on policy impacting teachers and students in the area of English as a second language. http://larryferlazzo.edublogs.org/

Dave's ESL Café

This website is extensive, offering activities and materials for just about everything related to ESL/EFL teaching. It offers information on discussion groups, listservs, and other communication forums which are open to interested students or teachers. An "Idea Cookbook" is great for teachers, as are game ideas and learning assessment tools.  Notable features include the Slang page, the Idiom page, the Quote page, and the Pronunciation page.  Copyright date is current but site could use some updating and incorporation of newer social media tools. http://www.eslcafe.com/

Sean Banville's Blog

Sean Banville holds a Master's degree in Teaching English as a Foreign Language/Second Language from the University of Birmingham (U.K.) and maintains multiple sites offering rich resources utilizing news and popular culture for the teaching and learning of English.  These include the best known BreakingNewsEnglish.com, as well as LessonsOnMovies.com, FamousPeopleLessons.com and BusinessEnglishMaterials.comhttp://seanbanville.com/

Activities for ESL Students

Includes over 1,000 quizzes, exercises, and puzzles to help students studying English as a Second Language (ESL). The activities are contributed by teachers and include grammar and vocabulary activities. Some activities require Flash and Java, but students can also select HTML-Only activities. Can be used by a wide variety of native language speakers. http://a4esl.org/

Western/Pacific Lincs: English as a Second Language
This website has been designed for instructors, literacy practitioners, program administrators, and researchers. The site is deep in its coverage with links to all manner of sites to promote literacy. Included are sites to international newspapers, sites to teaching reading through signs, and an online picture gallery. Also included in the Research Section are resources that support evidence-based education. http://literacynet.org/esl/

Aardvark's English-Forum.com
This site is a compilation of a wide variety of ESL resources which include links to English schools, testing agencies, online dictionaries, tutorials, learning exercises, books, media, lesson plans, and discussion groups. The International Language Centres Group, a commercial entity based in England, maintains this site but there is plenty of useful information to U.S. teachers and students. http://www.english-forum.com/

Office of English Language Acquisition, U.S. Department of Education

The Office of English Language Acquisition, Language Enhancement, and Academic Achievement for Limited English Proficient Students maintains this website. The mission of the office is to provide national leadership to help ensure that English language learners and immigrant students attain English proficiency and achieve academically and, assist in building the nation's capacity in critical foreign languages.  Resources are provided for teachers, families and students, with strong coverage in the areas of Preschool-12 reform, and college completion.  http://www.ed.gov/oela

National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition
OELA's National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition & Language Instruction Educational Programs (NCELA) collects, analyzes, synthesizes and disseminates information about language instruction educational programs for English language learners and related programs. It is funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of English Language Acquisition, Language Enhancement & Academic Achievement for Limited English Proficient Students (OELA) under Title III of the No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act of 2001. http://www.ncela.gwu.edu/

 

Teaching Resources

 

The EFL Playhouse
EFL Playhouse is a small and easy to navigate Web site with practical suggestions for the ESOL teacher. The scope of the language activities include chants, fingerplays, games, songs, tongue twisters, and even recipes for arts and craft supplies. Additionally there is also a section on phonemic awareness and a discussion board. http://www.esl4kids.net/

Englishclub.com
This large site includes 24 different sections with links especially dedicated to learners and teachers of English as a Second Language. At this site you will find activities, games, exams, homework assignments, lesson plans and handouts for teachers to use in the classroom. Available through this site are links to pronunciation guides, grammar rules, jokes, and vocabulary activities for reference, business, and leisure use. Self-paced, interactive learning tools, a forum, and a free newsletter are also included. http://www.englishclub.com/

ESL Flow
ESL flow is a valuable, easy to use website that offers teaching ideas, lesson plans, and activities at the elementary, pre-intermediate, and intermediate levels for ESL speaking, listening, grammar, vocabulary, reading, and writing classes. This site contains a resource section for additional ideas, creative works, and links to articles on pedagogy, guides, grammars, and other popular sites such as sample tests for the Cambridge Certificate. Pages are divided according to content theme, language skill, and level of difficulty.  Most useful as a source of activities for classes in oral expression, the site also addresses hard-to-teach problems of usage, such as articles, prepositions, and the choice between gerunds and infinitives. http://www.eslflow.com

TEFL.Net
This website is designed to provide resources for TEFL/TESL teachers. Users can find sections dedicated to lesson tips and activities, worksheets, tutorials, book reviews, and the TEFL Blog. Learn about TEFL/TESL qualification requirements, job opportunities, and related travel information. Discussion forums provide an opportunity for teachers to network and share valuable information. The site is produced in Cambridge, England, so the focus is on British English. http://www.tefl.net/

TESOL 
The mission of the TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) International Association is to advance professional expertise in English language teaching and learning for speakers of other languages worldwide. The website supports the following professional ideals: professionalism in language education; interaction of research and practice for educational improvement; accessible, high quality instruction; respect for diversity, multilingualism and multiculturalism; respect for individual language rights; and collaboration in a global community.  TESOL advocates for its members, provides professional support in multiple formats, and enhances communication among its constituencies. http://www.tesol.org/ 

Literacy Connections

Literacy Connections provides a wealth of information on reading, teaching and tutoring techniques, ESL literacy, and adult literacy. The site's authors recommend resources that are useful for teachers, volunteers, and directors of literacy programs. Topics include the language experience approach, phonics, word study, word families, and the best in children's literature. http://www.literacyconnections.com/

 

Listening/Interactive

 

VOE Learning English

Produced by the Voice of America, this Youtube channel disseminates video-based resources for the learning of American English. Captioned news and features are presented in VOA Special English; stories are read one-third slower than regular VOA English. http://www.youtube.com/user/VOALearningEnglish

BBC World Service: Learning English
Provided by the British Broadcasting Corporation, this engaging and visually appealing website focuses on learning English in general, not specifically for ESL learners. The site benefits from the rich news content, professional design, and authority of the BBC. Sections include General & Business English; Grammar, Vocabulary, and Pronunciation; Pronunciation Tips; Words in the News; Funky Phrasals; The Teacher; Keep Your English Up To Date; Quzzes; Community; and Downloads.  http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/learningenglish/index.shtml

The English Listening Lounge
This interesting site allows learners of English to experience spoken English on an everyday level by listening to ordinary people talk about their lives. It is available at three levels: new, regular, or advanced listeners. The user may choose to enhance learning potential by adding options of transcripts, questions, or user guides when listening to the audio segments.  If desired, users can pay for membership to access more listening passages.  Dr. Gary Buck, an international testing expert in the area of English as a second language, is the founder and President of sponsoring company Lidget Green.  He is the author of the standard textbook on testing second-language listening comprehension, and has published in numerous academic journals. http://www.englishlistening.com/

ESL Independent Study Lab
Designed for ESL students to practice their skills, this site offers links to online listening sites where users can hear the pronunciations of words. Several links on the site allow practice with vocabulary, grammar, writing and reading. There are links to research studies in integrating technology with ESL and a checklist provided for the study lab. Try the TOEFL practice tests and explore the games and activities that offer ESL learners practice while learning. http://www.lclark.edu/~krauss/toppicks/toppicks.html

Randall's ESL Cyber Listening Lab
This website offers English learners the opportunity to hear and read along with spoken English. The audio selections are grouped by length into the following categories: short listening exercises, general listening quizzes, listening quizzes for academic purposes, and long conversational quizzes. Each passage is given an easy, medium, difficult, or very difficult label which allows the user to build upon his or her listening and comprehension skills. Links to other listening sites are also available. http://www.esl-lab.com/

 

Language and Culture

 

Interesting Things for ESL Students
This study site offers students of English as a Second Language an opportunity to practice their newly acquired knowledge with word games, word puzzles, anagrams, quizzes, slang expressions, proverbs, vocabulary and grammar study, and a random-sentence generator. There are also links to dictionaries, listening sites and other ESL sites. Users can also visit more links that contain activities and sample pages from Many Things, a textbook for Japanese students studying English. http://www.aitech.ac.jp/~itesls/

Word Focus
This website is focused on words and literature and is a great tool for improving English vocabulary. It focuses on the Latin and Greek elements in the English language and explains the origin of some words and phrases by linking them to their Greek and Latin roots. Also included are quizzes on word choices and links to sites that provide a variety of word experiences. The site contains poems and stories with language-related activities that would be useful for middle and secondary school students.  http://www.wordfocus.com/ 

American English

The American English website provides resources for teaching and learning English as a Foreign Language (EFL), exploring American culture, and encouraging conversation within the global EFL community.  It focuses on the teaching and learning of English within the context of American language and culture.  The site provides a variety of engaging materials and resources for teachers' professional development and for students in the classroom.  Teachers and students will find new ways to practice English and learn more about the United States.  Produced and maintained by the United States Department of State, the site also contains the English Teaching Forum, a quarterly journal for professionals teaching English as a Foreign or Second Language, published by the Office of English Language Programs, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.  http://americanenglish.state.gov/

Center for Applied Linguistics (CAL)

The Center for Applied Linguistics (CAL) is a private, nonprofit organization working to improve communication through better understanding of language and culture.  It is dedicated to providing a comprehensive range of research-based information, tools, and resources.  Established in 1953 and headquartered in Washington, D.C. CAL has earned a national and international reputation for its contributions to the fields of bilingual, English as a second language, literacy, and foreign language education.among other related areas. An experienced staff of researchers and educators conduct research, design and develop instructional materials and language tests, provide technical assistance and professional development, conduct needs assessments and program evaluations, and disseminate information and resources related to language and culture.  http://www.cal.org

      

    ESL/ELL/Bilingual Collection Resources

    The following is a list of publishers and vendors of high quality ESL, ELL, and bilingual resources for potential selection for a curriculum materials center.  Publishers and vendors have been selected for this list based on the quality and utility of offerings, substantial inventory of ESL, ELL and bilingual resources, and publisher/vendor reputation.

     
     
    203.837.9100 (Haas) | 181 White Street, Danbury, CT 06810 | 203.837.9139 (Young)
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip