Guides: Criminology: Finding Articles

Article Searching

TO FIND ARTICLES ON CASES, LEGAL ISSUES, ETC. USE THE DATABASE LINKS BELOW

OR USE THIS LINK FOR THE DATABASE PAGE FOR JLA: JLA database page.

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database focuses on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly called LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to over 15,000 national and international news sources, business news, the Company Dossier, legal news and law review articles, It contains legal sources including Federal and State court cases, federal and state laws and regulations and access to Shepard's Citations service.