Guides: WCSU Libraries: WCSU Libraries Home

Search

Search books, media, articles, course reserves, & more

A database is a searchable collection of online information.

Find databases

Quick links to some of the most popular databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database focuses on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.
EBSCO Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search all EBSCO provided databases simultaneously.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains a comprehensive backfile (current issues not available) of scholarly journals, current open access articles, and select current scholarly journal subscriptions spanning more than 20 disciplines including business & economics, education, science, history, and language & literature - all in full text
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed indexes and abstracts more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
MediaSpace This link opens in a new window
MediaSpace is a YouTube-like portal where you can add content to your own channel, or locate materials that WCSU has available in its media collections. You must sign in to view all its content. Its content Is only available to students and staff of WCSU.

Popular guides

Using the Library
by Dylan Sprague Last Updated Sep 24, 2024 1381 views this year
Get Help
by Dylan Sprague Last Updated Aug 9, 2023 543 views this year
Marketing
by Xiaomei Gong Last Updated Sep 20, 2024 619 views this year
Teacher Education
by Dylan Sprague Last Updated Sep 19, 2024 599 views this year
Research Basics
by Veronica Kenausis Last Updated Oct 14, 2023 290 views this year
Library Instruction Tools for Students of 100-Level Classes
by Ellen O'Meara Last Updated Aug 23, 2023 37 views this year

Browse all guides (grouped by subject)

Video tutorials

Introduction to the Hass Library
100-Level Tutorials - Explore our digital information literacy curriculum!
Searching Basics [WestSearch] - Learn basic searching skills using WestSearch!
More video tutorials

Services

Tutoring Resource Center
If you need general tutoring support, contact the TRC, located on the second floor in the Haas Library.

Writing Center
If you need help writing or formatting your paper, contact the Writing Center, located on the third floor of the Haas Library.

WCSU ILL website - How interlibrary loan works
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service which allows the libraries at WCSU to borrow materials from other libraries. Interlibrary Loan is based on a network of cooperative agreements which provide access to books and periodicals in the collections of over 13,000 libraries in the U.S., Canada, Puerto Rico, Mexico, and Europe. Document Delivery Service provides access to articles in about 20,000 periodicals, and to doctoral dissertations from 550 universities. After a request is sent, it normally takes 1-2 weeks for an item to be delivered.

Archives & Special Collections Homepage
WCSU's Archives and Special Collections Library are located in the basement of Haas Library. There, you'll find all sorts of unique items, including yearbooks, Civil War letters, cookbooks, snake bones, Danbury voting ledgers, municipal tax records, historic photographs, art,...

Off-campus Access
Using the Library
Borrow from non-CSCU Libraries
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service which allows the libraries at WCSU to borrow materials, such as journal article and books, from other libraries.
Spaces/Study Rooms
Learn about spaces available at the library
Article Finder (Journal Finder)
If you have a citation you can use this tool to find the article.

Faculty Resources
Our faculty support page. Here you can find all the information related to faculty support, whether you're trying to book a librarian for your class, or need help in your own scholarly research, you can find the information here.
Course Reserves
Place books or media on reserve for your students to access through the WCSU Libraries.

Ancell Commons
If you need tutoring support business related topics, contact the Ancell Commons, located behind the Young Library.

Make an appointment

Need to talk to a librarian about your research project?

Looking for a study room? Find a study room at the Haas Library (opens in new tab)

Need a librarian to come to your class and discuss research techniques and library resources?

What's on Instagram?

View this profile on Instagram

WCSU Library (@westconnlibrary) • Instagram photos and videos

Library Hours & Staff Directory

View All Library Hours
Writing Center Hours
Tutoring Resource Center Hours
Ancell Commons Tutoring at Young Library (Westside)
Computer Lab Hours

Staff Directory

Haas Library
181 White Street
Danbury, CT 06810
203-837-9100

Young Library
Westside Classroom Building, Suite 433
43 Lake Avenue Ext.
Danbury, CT 06810
203-837-9139

Current and Upcoming Events

Celebrate Native American Heritage Month. November 1-November 30. Mini Collection link

Did you know?

The DVD collection is on the 3rd floor of the Haas Library.

Haas's glass elevator is the tallest hydraulic elevator in the state.

The Connecticut Room is in the basement of the Haas Library. It has all sorts of historic Connecticut-related research materials.
(access by appointment)

There are single-user ungendered restrooms on the second floor.