Library Faculty Positions

Please see Current WCSU Employment Opportunities for more information.

PT Assistant Archivist (Adjunct Faculty)

The Western Connecticut State University Archives is seeking a part-time (between 15 and 19 hours per week)* assistant archivist.  Assists with the accessioning, processing, description and cataloging of archival materials and monographs, and administration of the Archives technical infrastructure with a particular lens for inclusion and the needs of a diverse community.  The position requires a strong technical background, research skills, a positive customer service ethic and will provide the applicant with exposure to most of the current best-practices in the field of archives and the implementation of the current technological tools of the trade.  Appointment to this position also requires some coverage of the Library’s reference desk.

 DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES:

1. Assists with archival processing
2. Assists with monograph cataloging
3. Application of name, type and subject authorities and thesauruses
4. Data entry, data migration and ingest
5. Research on provenance and biographical background related to collections
6. Research of biographical data
7. Responding to patron research requests
8. Assist with exhibit preparation and installation
9. Command line and administrative interface interaction with software utilized by the Archive
10. Support the library systems administrator with Archives-related issues
11. Miscellaneous housekeeping duties as required
12. General library reference

REQUIREMENTS:

1. ALA accredited MLS or MLIS (or equivalent)
2. A familiarity with Linux-flavored server administration
3. Research skills
4. Strong communication skills
5. Ability to work independently
6. Ability to lift 40 lbs
7. Willingness and ability to work frequently with old objects and paper where dirt, dust and mold may be present
8. Attention to detail
9. Working knowledge and understanding of EAD and MARC, OR of XML in general.
10. Working knowledge of CSS, JavaScript, Python, MySQL, and PHP.
11. Familiarity and facility with using spreadsheets
12. Ability to multitask
13. Familiarity with library reference services in an academic setting

PREFERRED:

1. A knowledge of Ruby
2. A familiarity with IIIF
3. Computer science background
4. Digital photography and imaging
5. Public history background
6. Public presentation skills

Please express your interest in applying for this position by contacting the archives at this link:

https://archives-library.wcsu.edu/contact/

* Part-time hours initially must fall between 8AM and 4PM, Monday-Friday.  Some remote-work will be permissible.