Acquisitions & Technical Services

The Acquisitions & Technical Services librarians and staff are responsible for ordering and processing new materials for the collections of the Ruth A. Haas Library and the Robert S. Young Library. The Acquisitions Librarian also accepts gifts of books and other materials for the collections of the two libraries.

Archives & Special Collections

Archives & Special Collections department houses and maintains the historical records of Western Connecticut State University as well as rare, out-of-print, and antique items, and materials pertaining to local and state history. For more information, see the Archives & Special Collections homepage.

Circulation

Circulation desks are located near the main entrances of both the Haas and Young Libraries. The staff and students at these desks are responsible for checking materials, in and out of the library as well as helping you manage your library account. Picking up holds and requests from other libraries and Interlibrary Loan are also handled at Circulation.

Reference

Both the Haas and the Young Libraries have Reference Desks staffed by professional librarians most hours the libraries are open who are there to answer your questions and assist you in the research process. Visit the reference desk in either library for in-depth and thorough explanations of databases, sources, procedures.

Serials & Government Documents

The Serials & Government Documents department acquires and maintains the libraries' print and online subscriptions to newspapers, popular magazines, scholarly journals, and government publications.  Physical materials are located on the third floor of the Haas Library, and in the Young Library reading room.  Online subscriptions may be accessed through WestSearch and through the databases.

Systems

The Systems Department is responsible for the libraries' technology, including hardware, software, web sites, databases, remote access, digital initiatives, services, etc.