Guides: Alternative Sources for Government Information: Home

Intro

Since the inauguration on January 20, 2025, many federal resources that were commonly available are no longer viewable online, and URLs in library records may not resolve properly. While some change is normal during executive transition, the sheer number of sites that have been affected is significant.

This guide provides alternate links to those sources as they are identified. In instances where alternate links to missing data cannot be provided, links to similar resources are.

Online archives

Data.gov Archive
A regularly updated mirror of all data files linked from data.gov ... The repository is maintained by the Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab as part of [their] project to preserve U.S. federal public data. Hosted by Source Cooperative
DataLumos
DataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data. DataLumos accepts deposits of public data resources from the community and recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR itself might add to DataLumos.
End of Term Web Archive
The End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012, 2016, and 2020. Currently accepting nominations for 2024.
FDLP Web Archive
To provide permanent public access to Federal Agency Web content, the Federal Depository Library Program harvests selected U.S. Government Web sites in their entirety.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, [they] provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, people with print disabilities, and the general public. [Their] mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.