WCSU is a congressionally designated depository for U.S Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law (for more information, see Title 44 United States Code). As a participant in the Federal Depository Library Program, WCSU receives copies of many government documents on an ongoing basis. To locate federal and other government documents in the Haas library, use WestSearch to search the library catalog.
The following resources represent the cooperative efforts of multiple governmental agencies.
FedWorld: is a gateway to government information. [The] site is managed by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) as part of its information management mandate.
GPOAccess Online Resources: an A-Z list of resources, provided by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO).
Students.gov: is an official U.S. government web site designed for college students and their families. [Their] mission is to provide you with easy access to information and resources from the U.S. government – all the info you need, in one place, from all parts of the government.
USA.gov: (fka FirstGov) is an interagency initiative administered by the U.S. General Services Administration's Office of Citizen Services. It got its start when Internet entrepreneur Eric Brewer, whose early research was funded by the Department of Defense, offered to donate a powerful search engine to government.
USA.gov is a platform for searching across multiple government agencies for information on statistics, services, and more.
All federal depository collections should contain the following titles:
American FactFinder
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
Budget of the United States Government
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Census of Population and Housing: Population & Housing Unit Counts (all states, U.S. Summary, and Puerto Rico)
Census of Population and Housing: Summary Population & Housing Characteristics (all states, U.S. Summary, and Puerto Rico)
Census of Population and Housing: Summary Social, Economic, & Housing Characteristics (all states, U.S. Summary, and Puerto Rico)
Census of Population and Housing: Social, Economic, & Housing Characteristics (Island Areas)
Code of Federal Regulations
Congressional Directory
Congressional Record (daily)
Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation
County and City Data Book
Economic Indicators
Economic Report of the President
Federal Register (daily)
GPO Access
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 (Bicentennial edition)
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Social Security Handbook
STAT-USA
Statistical Abstract of the United States
United States Statutes at Large
United States Code
United States Government Manual
United States Reports
USA Counties
Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents
Luckily for you, these documents are available electronically.
"The core mission of Keeping America Informed, dated to 1813 when Congress determined to make information regarding the work of the three branches of Government available to all Americans. The U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) provides publishing & dissemination services for the official & authentic government publications to Congress, Federal agencies, Federal depository libraries, & the American public."
The GPO (which includes the FDsys project) has made its catalog of publications available to the public. To search the GPO, please click on one of the following links:
govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
For an index to all federal agencies, please click here. You will be re-directed to a page maintained by the U.S. General Services Administration's Office of Citizen Services and Communications.
You may find the information available from the following federal agencies to be beneficial:
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Student Financial Assistance Programs, Office of (Financial Aid)
Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Health and Human Services, U.S. Department of (DHHS)
Housing and Urban Development, U.S. Department of (HUD)
Citizenship and Immigration Services, U.S. (USCIS)
Justice, U.S. Department of (USDOJ)
THOMAS (legislative information)
