Welcome!  This part of the guide contains introductory videos to help you navigate some of our subscription databases. We've chosen databases that contain large amounts of information on Justice and Law topics.   There are also links on these pages to additional training materials produced by the publishers of these databases.

If you have any questions about navigating these databases please use the Reference Chat link at the bottom right corner of the library home page, to communicate with one of the WCSU librarians who will be happy to help you.  You can also make an appointment with one of the librarians by using the form on the library home page.  You can email a librarian directly or text or call one of the libraries: Young Library at Westside: 203-837-9139 or Haas Library: 203-837-9110.

Basic and advanced search options are available along with the ability to narrow search results.

Topics chosen by the vendor are displayed on the homepage.  Clicking on a topic brings you to a collection of materials in various formats dealing with the issue. For example the 9/11 topic gives you primary sources (many U. S. government documents dealing with Irag), published materials, videos and links to other websites.

Additional Search Strategy Tutorials from Proquest

• Proquest Basic Search Quick Guide   Guide created by Proquest trainers detailing basic search strategy within a Proquest database
   
• Proquest Advanced Search Quick Guide  Guide put together by the Proquest trainers on how to best use the Advanced Search feature.
   
• Proquest Search Language/Syntax Guide   Handout describing how how to use search language in the Proquest databases

More Search Strategies information:

• Nexis Uni Search using terms and connectors

  a YouTube video published by LexisNexis

• Nexis Uni™: Source Selection & Creating Permalinks

• Nexis Uni - creating a profile

  Creating a profile allows you to customize your Nexis Uni page.

HeinOnline is a source for traditional legal materials (reported cases, statutes, government regulations, academic law reviews, commercially produced law journals and magazines, and classic treatises), historical, governmental, and political documents, legislative debates, legislative and executive branch reports, (Wikipedia) 

It has basic and advanced searching capabilities. The Search Help link next to the Advance Search  gives helpful information on constructing a search and the search syntax needed.  The HeinOnline Blog offers help and tips for navigating through the many collections of materials.  Check out the Getting Started page, Getting Started - HeinOnline Blog (oclc.org) 

A helpful video is also available on Youtube, https://youtu.be/5SJdEP_BIY0

Additional tutorials from EBSCO:

• Using Advanced Search

  The Advanced Search option allows you to define your search criteria to get more precise search results.

• Creating a MyEbscoHost account

  Create a free account within the WCSU subscription to store searches, images and results. You can also create custom folders and set up alerts to be notified of new articles on your topic.

• Using the EbscoHost search history

  Tutorial on using the search history function. Addiitonal functionality available by creating a personal, free Ebsco account while in aWCSU Ebsco database.

• Ebsco Result List Tutorial

  Tutorial on using facets to refine search results.