Guides: Biology Guide: Citation Resources

American Psychological Association (APA)

APA Style Website - Style and Grammar Guidelines
- The definitive online guide to APA Citation - On this site, you will find tutorials, FAQs, and other resources to help you improve your writing, master APA Style, and learn the conventions of scholarly publishing.
APA Style Blog (7th Edition)
- The APA Style blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition. It's run by the APA Style team—a group of style experts who work with APA Style every day. We regularly publish posts to talk about what we love—writing, publishing, and APA Style
APA Formatting Help - OWL Purdue
- These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.
WCSU Databases
- Ebsco, Proquest, JSTOR provide links to citation creators. Once you find your resource - article, book pages etc., just click on the citation link and pick the correct format. Watch this video to see how to save a citation in WestSearch.

ASA Formatting Help - OWL Purdue
- These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Sociological Association (ASA) citation and format style. This contains resources on creating in-text citations and the References page, as well as ASA sample papers, slide presentations, and an ASA formatted classroom poster.
WCSU Databases
- Ebsco, Proquest, JSTOR provide links to citation creators. Once you find your resource - article, book pages etc., just click on the citation link and pick the correct format. Watch this video to see how to save a citation in WestSearch.

MLA Formatting Help - OWL Purdue
- These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on creating in-text citations and a Reference page, as well as MLA sample papers and slide presentations.
MLA Handbook
- The first chapter is available online for free on the MLA website. This chapter covers the very basics of formatting your paper.
Sample papers
- These sample papers come directly from the MLA website. Examples of high school papers and undergraduate-level papers are available.
WCSU Databases
- Ebsco, Proquest, JSTOR provide links to citation creators. Once you find your resource - article, book pages etc., just click on the citation link and pick the correct format. Watch this video to see how to save a citation in WestSearch.

Chicago Formatting Help - OWL Purdue
- These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the Chicago Manual of Style. This site includes in-text citation help, reference (bibliography) list formatting, sample papers, and sample presentations.
CMOS Shop Talk - Chicago Student Resources
- Do you need to learn the basics of “Chicago Style” for writing and formatting research papers? This post serves as an introduction and includes paper-formatting tip sheets, an overview of Chicago-style source citations, and 26 topic sheets for teachers to use in the classroom.
WCSU Databases
- Ebsco, Proquest, JSTOR provide links to citation creators. Once you find your resource - article, book pages etc., just click on the citation link and pick the correct format. Watch this video to see how to save a citation in WestSearch.

Zotero
Zotero is open source and developed by an independent, nonprofit organization that has no financial interest in your private information. Zotero helps you organize your research any way you want. You can sort items into collections and tag them with keywords. It instantly creates references and bibliographies for any text editor, and directly inside Word, LibreOffice, and Google Docs.
Mendelay
Mendeley is a free reference manager that can help you store, organize, note, share and cite references and research data: Automatically generate bibliographies; Collaborate easily with other researchers online; Easily import papers from other research software; Find relevant papers based on what you're reading; Access your papers from anywhere online.
EndNote
A subscription-based reference manager - "EndNote 2025 introduces a suite of new features designed to help you boost productivity, stay accurate and take your work further. The AI-powered EndNote Research Assistant offers several ways to interact with documents and unlock knowledge in your library. Additional EndNote 2025 features help you find new research sources and cite faster than ever."
RefWorks
A subscription-based reference manager - "RefWorks is an easy-to-teach, learn, and use reference management service that simplifies research workflow. It enables effortless collection, organization and collaboration."