This step is important to complete BEFORE you start searching the databases. Follow these steps:
Write down your topic as a sentence, phrase, question, theory, hypothesis, or a series of descriptive words.
Pull out the main concepts from your topic statement.
Proceed with brainstorming and using thesauri to identify additional subject headings/descriptors and "keyword" search terms corresponding to your main concepts.
Combine your subject headings and keyword terms using Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT, using "natural language" (just listing words one after another), or field searching/advanced search options like those found in the EBSCO databases.
Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. This database will offer the everyday user the necessary tools and detailed instructions to independently address a wide-range of legal issues including business law, financial planning, family law, property & real estate and rights & disputes.
OpenDissertations now includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. It is a free database with records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world. Full text of dissertations available by clicking on URL in each record to link to participating institution's digital collection.
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
Search all EBSCO provided databases simultaneously.
A Definitive Source of Full-Text, Peer-Reviewed Scholarly and Scientific Articles in Psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA). This full-text psychology database contains articles from highly-cited and landmark journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. Content from over 100 journals.
This database is the APA's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed. Topics included are Pharmacology, Psychiatry, Business, Education, and Law. Currently indexes over 2,500 journals. Articles for which full-text is not available can be ordered via interlibrary loan.
(Replaces Sociological Abstracts) SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.Indexing and abstracts for more than 1,800 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. The database features more than 1,600,000 records with subject headings from a 31,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.
Search within these specific publications!
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
