Guides: Library Resources for Immigrant Foodways/HIS298: home

Photographs

what's on the menu?

Historical Restaurant menus at the NYPL

https://www.nps.gov/subjects/nationalregister/index.htm

Advisory Council on Historic Preservation

American Cultural Resources Association

Culturespaces

National Register of Historic Places

historical new york times

To access the historical New York Times, click here. If you are off campus, you will be required to log in using your network credentials.

To access all of our electronic newspapers, including the historical New York Times, click here.

Periodical Article Indexes - Magazines, Journals, Newspapers

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains a comprehensive backfile (current issues not available) of scholarly journals, current open access articles, and select current scholarly journal subscriptions spanning more than 20 disciplines including business & economics, education, science, history, and language & literature - all in full text
MLA International Bibliography (Language & Literature) This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. GoogleScholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Web of Science - Social Science Index This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Social Sciences Citation Index, including current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines
New York Times - Current This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage: 1980-current.
Hartford Courant - Current This link opens in a new window
Daily newspaper from Hartford, Connecticut. Coverage: 1992-current. See Hartford Courant - Historical for coverage of older materials.

Contact information

Jennifer O'Brien

Email Me

Contact:

Serials and Gov Docs Department

x78837

Subjects: Anthropology, Art, Economics, Geography, Government Resources, Mathematics, Newspapers and Newspaper Archives, Political Science, Social Sciences, Social Work, Sociology