Scholarly Sources are authored by academics, experts in their field of study, usually affiliated with a college or university and are intended to be read by academic audiences such as professors, researchers, and students. Scholarly Articles are published in journals by a scholarly press or organization and have a narrow scope or are limited to a specific field of study with the goal of promoting scholarly research.
These sources have been edited by other experts in the field before publication, you'll often see them referred to as peer reviewed.
Use the databases listed below to find scholarly journals and articles on and about English Literature.
Dictionaries in 5 languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Italian.
Online version of the popular dictionary.
This glossary of poetic terms is produced and maintained, with free access, by the Poetry Foundation.
In-depth, original profiles combined with full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of source material (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). Biography Reference Bank offers a breadth and depth of information you’ll find in no other biography database. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!
Indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
