Scholarly Sources are authored by academics, experts in their field of study, usually affiliated with a college or university and are intended to be read by academic audiences such as professors, researchers, and students. Scholarly Articles are published in journals by a scholarly press or organization and have a narrow scope or are limited to a specific field of study with the goal of promoting scholarly research.
These sources have been edited by other experts in the field before publication, you'll often see them referred to as peer reviewed.
Below is a list of databases that contain journals, articles, and research related to HPX!
CINAHL® Ultimate is comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health research and provides expanded full text access to journals in the CINAHL index. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.
Premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. Includes information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
A Definitive Source of Full-Text, Peer-Reviewed Scholarly and Scientific Articles in Psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA). This full-text psychology database contains articles from highly-cited and landmark journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. Content from over 100 journals.
This database is the APA's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed. Topics included are Pharmacology, Psychiatry, Business, Education, and Law. Currently indexes over 2,500 journals. Articles for which full-text is not available can be ordered via interlibrary loan.
Produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, HaPI is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from Education are included. HaPI Records provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, & more.
Nursing Reference Center Plus provides information on evidence-based nursing practices for staff nurses and nurse educators. Content includes continuing education, access to original research, and up-to-date information on patient care.
As you'll see, many of the databases we subscribe to are hosted on EBSCO. EBSCO itself isn't a database, rather, it's the means by which we search these databases. If a database is like a large website, then EBSCO is the search engine.
As of January 2025, EBSCO changed its interface. For old users, the new look may be confusing; for new users, you may just be looking to learn how best to search! Either way, the tutorials below come directly from EBSCO and show you how to search effectively using it's new interface!
