Newbery Award Winners
Admin Sign In 

Curriculum Collection at WCSU 

Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wcsu.edu/curriculum  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Welcome & Introduction             Print Page
  
 

Our Mission

The Curriculum Collection makes available for review and analysis a current collection of high quality preK-12 instructional materials. This collection serves education students & faculty, pre-and in-service teachers and the greater university community. Access and effective use are promoted through information dissemination, collection management, user education, and outreach activities.

 

What We Offer

Materials available include:

  • instructional kits;
  • handbooks, and guides for teachers;
  • an extensive collection of children’s and young adult literature (including many Caldecott Award & Newbery Medal and other award winners);
  • preK-12 non-fiction and reference print materials;
  • selected educational and psychological tests and measurement tools;
  • K-12 textbooks (selected);
  • multimedia teaching resources.
 

How to Find It

The Curriculum Room, on the 4th floor of the Ruth A. Haas Library, Midtown Campus, holds most Collection materials. The Room is accessible all the hours the Library is open. Materials can be searched by title, author, subject, format, or location through CONSULS, an online catalog that includes the curriculum collections of all four CSU campuses. Limiting searches to  "Curriculum Collections" is helpful.  PreK-12 fiction and non-fiction items are organized on the shelf according to the Dewey Decimal Classification system; all other items are in order by Library of Congress call number.

Please note:

  • Certain items, such as assessment tools and selected kits, have been placed on reserve in the Circulation Department

  • All circulating kits with multiple loose parts are stored behind the Circulation Desk of Haas Library 

  • DVDs and videos (containers only) are stored on the 2nd floor, bring them to the Circulation Desk where disk(s) are inserted upon check out 

  • CDs are held at Circulation 

 

Collection Policies

The Curriculum Collection is a specialized collection of multimedia resources.  Please take note:

  • Circulating print volumes can be checked out for a period of 28 days with a valid CSU ID

  • DVDs, VHS videos, and CDs circulate for 14 days

  • All measurement/evaluation instruments/test kits are on reserve (WCSU ID required; in some cases proof of course registration required; borrowing period varies)
  • teaching kits can be checked out for 7 days 

  • Reference materials such as encyclopedias are for use in the Library

 

Technology & Equipment

The Curriculum Room features one networked computer, blackboard and group study tables.

Computer workstations, DVD and CD players, and VCR’s are available in the Library to access the Curriculum Room’s multimedia resources. Laptop computers are also available for check out at the Circulation Desk; wireless service is available throughout Haas Library.

 
 

Story Time with Frank Herbert

Story Time with Frank Herbert

 

Pura Belpre Medal

Belpre Award

 

Carnegie Medal

 

Geisel Award

 
203.837.9100 (Haas) | 181 White Street, Danbury, CT 06810 | 203.837.9139 (Young)
Description

  Loading content... please wait