Guides: Curriculum Collection at WCSU: Author Research

Best Print Sources: Books by and about Authors at Haas Library

Best Print Sources: Author Research

100 Most Popular Picture Book Authors and Illustrators by Sharron L. McElmeel
Call Number: Haas PS490 .M395 2000 LIB USE ONLY
ISBN: 1563086476
Publication Date: 2000-07-15
A current and affordable alternative to multivolume publications, this book offers fascinating profiles of 100 of the most celebrated picture book authors and illustrators, accompanied by photos, reading lists, and lists of related information sources. A superb collection development tool and resource for author studies. Grades K-6.
Children's Authors and Illustrators Too Good to Miss by Sharron L. McElmeel
Call Number: WCSU H CURRIC LAB PS490 .M398 2004
ISBN: 9781591580270
Publication Date: 2004-06-30
You'll find engaging biographical sketches, photos, selected bibliographies, and lists of resources for 45 authors and illustrators, including Laurie Halse Anderson, Haemi Balgassi, Toni Buzzeo, David Diaz, Kate DiCamillo, Linda Sue Park, Chris Soentpiet, Anastasia Suen, Simms Taback, and many more. This all-new new volume is a current and affordable update to the Popular Authors Series.
Meet the Authors and Illustrators by Scholastic, Inc. Staff
Call Number: WCSU H CURRIC LAB PS490 .K68 1991 v.1 & 2
ISBN: 0590490974
Publication Date: 1991-09-01
Brief biographies of a variety of authors and illustrators from different parts of the world accompany a description of their work.
Real Cheesy Facts about: Famous Authors by Camille Smith Platt
Call Number: WCSU H JUV NF 820.9 P6977r
ISBN: 9781575872506
Publication Date: 2006-08-01
The Essential Guide to Children's Books and Their Creators by Anita Silvey (Editor)
Call Number: WCSU H CURRIC LAB PS490 .E85 2002
ISBN: 9780618190836
Publication Date: 2002-09-26
Winning Authors by Kathleen Long Bostrom
Call Number: WCSU H CURRIC LAB PS490 .B677 2003
ISBN: 1563088770
Publication Date: 2003-09-30
What makes a winning children's book author? Look behind the scenes, and learn more about the 76 fascinating authors who have garnered the prestigious Newbery Medal since it was established in 1922.

Best Database Sources: Author Research

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.

Best Web Sources: Author Research

Authors and Illustrators on the Web
Nice tool for locating author websites.
Reading Rockets
Features an "Author Study Toolkit". Site funded by Department of Education
Scholastic: Authors
YouTube (Search author name for great video clips of children's authors)
Amazon (Useful for obtaining images of book covers)
Google Search
Never underestimate the power of a good Google search!!!
Read Write Think
Website sponsored and managed by the International Reading Association, National Council of Teachers of English, among others!! Great resources here!
WestSearch
Use WestSearch for a broad search of articles and books at WCSU. You can use the drop down menu to widen the search to all books in the Consortium libraries (a total of 18). Materials from other CSU Consortium libraries may be ordered through the "Request" link found below the list of libraries who own the book you are interested in.