Guides: Accounting & MIS Guide: Guide Home

Accounting & MIS Resources

Checkpoint: Tax and Finance Research This link opens in a new window
Integrated resource for students and tax professionals alike; includes practice development tools and authoritative analysis.
ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
Premier world-wide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more with nearly half full-text. Also, information on 60,000+ companies.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM DL is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.
CiteSeer This link opens in a new window
Scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeer aims to improve the dissemination and feedback of the scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
State-of-the-art product provides Internet-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company information, with the latest in features and functions.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Eastern edition and online versions. Updated daily.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly called LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to over 15,000 national and international news sources, business news, the Company Dossier, legal news and law review articles, It contains legal sources including Federal and State court cases, federal and state laws and regulations and access to Shepard's Citations service.
S&P Capital IQ
The Capital IQ platform provides research, data, and analysis on private and public companies to help finance professionals perform an analysis. This analysis may support transactions such as mergers and acquisitions, as well as investment recommendations, such as those made by equity research.
Please click "more" below to read instructions on accessing this resource for the first time.
Instructions for access:

1: You will need to sign up for an account at https://www.capitaliq.com/CIQDotNet/Registration/signup.aspx the first time you use this database
2: Enter your @wcsu.edu email address, the hit "submit"
3: Check your email. It may show up in your 'quarantine' box.
4: Reset your password. This may also show up in your 'quarantine' box.

Books on Reserve

Accounting Course Reserves
A link to a list of all the accounting books we have listed on reserve. Books on the reserve shelf can only be used within the Haas or Young libraries and can only be checked out for a few hours at a time to ensure fair accessibility for other students.
Management Information System Course Reserves
A link to a list of all the MIS books we have listed on reserve. Books on the reserve shelf can only be used within the Haas or Young libraries and can only be checked out for a few hours at a time to ensure fair accessibility for other students.

Physical Books in the Collection

Accounting Books and standards
A link to a canned search in WestSearch for all available print books on accounting and accounting related fields.
Management Information Systems Books
A link to a canned search in WestSearch for all available print books on MIS and MIS related fields.

eBooks in the Collection

Accounting eBooks
A link to a canned search for accounting books with online access. Note: some of these books are available in both physical or digital formats.
Management Informaiton Systems eBooks
A link to a canned search for MIS books with online access. Note: some of these books are available in both physical or digital formats.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Ebook Central is the new platform for Ebrary collections and additional scholarly ebooks across academic disciplines.

Association for Information Systems
The Association for Information Systems (AIS) serves society through the advancement of knowledge and the promotion of excellence in the practice and study of information systems. AIS is the premier professional association for individuals and organizations who lead the research, teaching, practice, and study of information systems worldwide. (Revised 12/2010).
Reuters News
"Founded in 1851, Reuters has remained true to our Trust Principles of independence, integrity and freedom from bias, working relentlessly to bring news from the source across all corners of the globe. With 2500 journalists and unmatched coverage in over 11 languages, we provide fast, live news and intelligence that reaches billions of people everyday." - From Reuters
CompTia
"The Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) is a leading voice and advocate for the $5 trillion global information technology ecosystem; and the estimated 75 million industry and tech professionals who design, implement, manage and safeguard the technology that powers the world’s economy. Through education, training, certifications, philanthropy and market research, CompTIA promotes industry growth; the development of a highly-skilled workforce and a commitment to creating an environment where innovation happens and the opportunities and benefits made possible through technology are available to all." - From CompTia
Association of Information Technology Professionals
The Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP) was founded in 1951 by a group of forward-thinking IT professionals who recognized the need for a dedicated community to support the burgeoning field of information technology. Originally known as the National Machine Accountants Association (NMAA), the organization aimed to provide a platform for sharing knowledge, advancing careers, and fostering innovation.
Information Resources Management Association (IRMA)
The Information Resources Management Association (IRMA) welcomes professionals, students, and academicians to search thousands of peer-reviewed works covering all areas of technology applied to modern organizations. Aiming to enhance knowledge of current topics in Information Resources Management, Research IRM, powered by InfoSci-OnDemand, makes thousands of proceedings papers, scholarly journal articles, and book chapters available for download. Search above to discover the latest findings in IRM.
Rutgers Management Information Systems Association (MISA)
The Management Information Systems Association (MISA) aims to enhance the Rutgers experience for the students of Rutgers University - Newark by promoting career opportunities as well as encouraging the cultural diversity amongst the students.
NIST: National Institute of Standards and Technology. Information Technology portal
Advancing the state-of-the-art in IT in such applications as cyber security and biometrics, NIST accelerates the development and deployment of systems that are reliable, usable, interoperable, and secure; advances measurement science through innovations in mathematics, statistics, and computer science; and conducts research to develop the measurements and standards infrastructure for emerging information technologies and applications.
Amerian Accounting Association
The American Accounting Association is the largest community of accountants in academia. Founded in 1916, we have a rich and reputable history built on leading-edge research and publications. The diversity of our membership creates a fertile environment for collaboration and innovation. Collectively, we shape the future of accounting through teaching, research and a powerful network, ensuring our position as thought leaders in accounting.

Accounting & MIS Guide

Need Research Help?

Need to talk to a librarian about your research project?

Accounting & MIS Resources

Instructions for access:

Books on Reserve

Physical Books in the Collection

eBooks in the Collection