Guides: Accounting & MIS Guide: Find Resources on the Web

Finding Resources on the Web

Below you'll find a list of free web resources pertaining to Accounting and Management Information Systems

Governmental Accounting Standards Board
The GASB establishes accounting and financial reporting standards for U.S. state and local governments that follow generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP). The Governmental Accounting Research System™ (GARS) provides access to those standards.
NIST: National Institute of Standards and Technology. Information Technology portal
NIST's mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life.
Webopedia.com
Webopedia is a free online dictionary for words, phrases and abbreviations that are related to computer and Internet technology. It provides easy-to-understand definitions in plain language so that the site is accessible to users with a wide range of computer knowledge. Full-time experienced editors gather information from standards bodies, leading technology companies, universities, professional online technical publications, white papers and professionals working in the field.

USA.gov This link opens in a new window
USA.gov is a platform for searching across multiple government agencies for information on statistics, services, and more.
CiteSeer This link opens in a new window
Scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeer aims to improve the dissemination and feedback of the scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.
OpenDissertations (formerly American Doctoral Dissertations) This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations now includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. It is a free database with records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world. Full text of dissertations available by clicking on URL in each record to link to participating institution's digital collection.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.

Association for Information Systems
The Association for Information Systems (AIS) serves society through the advancement of knowledge and the promotion of excellence in the practice and study of information systems. AIS is the premier professional association for individuals and organizations who lead the research, teaching, practice, and study of information systems worldwide. (Revised 12/2010).
Association of Information Technology Professionals
The Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP) was founded in 1951 by a group of forward-thinking IT professionals who recognized the need for a dedicated community to support the burgeoning field of information technology. Originally known as the National Machine Accountants Association (NMAA), the organization aimed to provide a platform for sharing knowledge, advancing careers, and fostering innovation.
Information Resources Management Association (IRMA)
The Information Resources Management Association (IRMA) welcomes professionals, students, and academicians to search thousands of peer-reviewed works covering all areas of technology applied to modern organizations. Aiming to enhance knowledge of current topics in Information Resources Management, Research IRM, powered by InfoSci-OnDemand, makes thousands of proceedings papers, scholarly journal articles, and book chapters available for download. Search above to discover the latest findings in IRM.
Rutgers Management Information Systems Association (MISA)
The Management Information Systems Association (MISA) aims to enhance the Rutgers experience for the students of Rutgers University - Newark by promoting career opportunities as well as encouraging the cultural diversity amongst the students.
American Accounting Association (AAA)
The largest community of accountants within higher education. Promotes excellence in accounting education, research and practices. More than 300 chapters on college and university campuses.
CompTia
"The Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) is a leading voice and advocate for the $5 trillion global information technology ecosystem; and the estimated 75 million industry and tech professionals who design, implement, manage and safeguard the technology that powers the world’s economy. Through education, training, certifications, philanthropy and market research, CompTIA promotes industry growth; the development of a highly-skilled workforce and a commitment to creating an environment where innovation happens and the opportunities and benefits made possible through technology are available to all." - From CompTia

Using Google Scholar for Research

You may have heard of, or even used Google Scholar in the past to search for articles. Like base Google, it can be a great tool when used correctly. Not everything that appears on Google Scholar will be accessible to you, so to make sure that it is, watch this video, or read the description below, to see how to connect the WCSU Libraries' catalog and list of databases to your search function:

Step-by-Step Google Scholar Guide

In addition to WestSearch and the libraries' subscription databases, Google Scholar can be a great way to find articles for your research. But if you want to be able to access full-text articles, you must update your settings in Google to link the search results to our libraries' databases.

1. Go to Google Scholar

2. Log in to your Google account

Google Scholar Sign-in Link