Great news!!! WCSU Libraries now subscribe to the ProQuest
Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) Full Text database!! Now you can access
entire dissertations quickly and easily. Try it now...then tell us
what you think. Use the Meebo box to share comments or ask any
questions about using this powerful database system.
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. Includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older works.
Taking Sides: Controversial Issues in Education
Check out these current resources for researching current and controversial issues in education/teaching!
Troubleshooting Your Search Results: When You Get No Results
Check for misspellings
Check for terms that are unlikely to be used by an author
Check for terms that are too specific
Check your date limiters and adjust as needed
Check that you have used Boolean operators correctly
Check that you have closed any quotation marks and nesting symbols ()
Check for incorrect or missing field terms/limiters
Also try techniques listed under "too few records"
Troubleshooting Your Search Results: When You Get Too Few Results
Drop the use of multi-word phrases and use AND between words instead
Decrease the use of the AND operator or the number of concepts searched
Increase the number of synonyms or alternatives for a term (combined with OR)
Use the scientific/technical/generic name and the common/everyday/brand name
Use variant spellings (i.e. British variants--e.g. "color or colour"' "behavior or behaviour," etc.
Use truncation (*) at the appropriate place in terms to pick up variant endings (e.g. ecolog*)
Use a search term appropriate to the database you are searching (subject headings/descriptors)
Use a broader search term; use a thesaurus for the database or subject
Search earlier or more years of the database
Try searching a different database
Troubleshooting Your Search Results: When You Get Too Many Results
Decrease the number of synonyms by choosing the most specific subject headings or the most significant/relevant keyword
increase the number of search concepts (with AND)
Do not search the full text of the item (i.e. do not search by keyword)
Limit your search by field, e.g. restrict your search to terms found only in the title of the article, or the abstract of the article, for example.
Limit your search (to peer reviewed/refereed articles, by date, search only research articles, full text articles, etc.)
Limit your search by time period to the last five or less years.
