Skip to Main Content

Libraries

Return to Library Home Page

Financial Decision Models: Home

Finance 330: For Course Project Only

Project for the Course

a. Choose an industrial firm (non- financial company) traded on the NYSE.

b. Collect the the income statement and balance sheet for the fiscal year with complete data. Due to data availability, you may need to go back one  year or more.

c. Identify the industry of the company based on the firm's SIC/NAICS code.

d.Get the financial ratios for this particular industry for the same time period as in (b)

e. Collect the (adjusted closed) daily stock prices of this company over the same time period as in (b).

f. Collect the market indices for that time period.

Comments (0)

Summary

1. To locate a proper company for your project.

2. To retrieve financial ratios from library print sources and from online.

3. To retrieve financial data from Yahoo.

4. To excel infromation retrieved.

5. Bibliographies

Steps for the Project

Step One

Finding a company

  • Data Axle (Formerly ReferenceUSA)  
    Contains detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses. Not available off campus.
  • Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage  
    Standard & Poor's is the world’s foremost provider of independent credit ratings, indices, risk evaluation, investment research, data and valuations. NetAdvantage is a single source for Standard & Poor’s investment research and commentary, providing ready access to some of our most popular research products including Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook, among others.
  • Corporate Affiliations  
    Provides information on nearly 200,000 of the most prominent public and private domestic and worldwide companies, their affiliates, subsidiaries and divisions.
  • Mergent Online  
    State-of-the-art product provides Internet-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company information, with the latest in features and functions.
Comments (0)
 

Step Two/Three

 Financial Information on Companies

  • Mergent Online  
    State-of-the-art product provides Internet-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company information, with the latest in features and functions.
  • Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage  
    Standard & Poor's is the world’s foremost provider of independent credit ratings, indices, risk evaluation, investment research, data and valuations. NetAdvantage is a single source for Standard & Poor’s investment research and commentary, providing ready access to some of our most popular research products including Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook, among others.
  • SEC Filings :  
Comments (0)
 

Step Four

  • Key Business Ratios (D&B)  
    Provides annual financial performance ratios for the industry categories defined by the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system with additional breakdowns by asset size where available. Used to compare a company's performance against its industry/competitors or see trends in industry performance over time.
  • Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios  
    Provides financial ratios for companies in various asset ranges by SIC code. Data reported are based on aggregate numbers from IRS records
  • RMA Annual Statement Studies  
    Provides financial ratios for companies in various asset ranges by SIC code. Data reported are based on aggregate numbers from IRS records
Comments (0)
 

Step Five/Six

  • Daily Stock Price and Market Information  
  • Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage  
    Standard & Poor's is the world’s foremost provider of independent credit ratings, indices, risk evaluation, investment research, data and valuations. NetAdvantage is a single source for Standard & Poor’s investment research and commentary, providing ready access to some of our most popular research products including Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook, among others.
  • Yahoo Finance  
      
    Current and historical stock quote
    For historical stock quotes, choose the Yahoo site above. Then:

    Enter ticker symbol.

    From the left column, select “Historical Prices”.

    Enter the start and end dates.

    Select “Daily, Weekly, or Monthly” and click on “Get Data”. (Data is in reverse date order.)

    For historical indices, choose the Yahoo site above. Then:

    Click on U.S. Indices at the bottom of the page

Citation Style

ABOUT THE YOUNG LIBRARY

LOCATION
4th floor of the Westside Classroom Building Suite 433

HOURS & CONTACT INFO
Monday, Tuesday & Thursday: 10 am to 6 pm
The Young Library is closed Wednesday, Fridays & weekends

203-837-9139

RequestRYL@wcsu.edu

COMPUTERS / STUDY & MEETING SPACES / COPYING / RESEARCH HELP

ANCELL COMMONS

A Tutor Can Help!

Ancell Commons offers free tutoring for business and JLA courses.

Westside Classroom Building, Robert S. Young Library, Suite 433

Click to make an appointment!

(203) 837-8567

WRITING CENTER

The Writing Center offers free appointments with peer consultants to help you with your writing. 

Although the focus is on one project (or portion of a project) in each session, the center's overall goal is for you to learn strategies that can transfer to all of your work.