The FBI's Crime Data Explorer (CDE) - CDE :: Crime (cloud.gov) - aims to provide transparency, create easier access, and expand awareness of criminal, and noncriminal, law enforcement data sharing; improve accountability for law enforcement; and provide a foundation to help shape public policy with the result of a safer nation. Use the CDE to discover available data through visualizations, download data in .csv format, and other large data files. Data is included on all aspects of law enforcement such as use of force, law enforcement officers killed, rates of violent crime etc. Data can be narrowed by demographics and date range.
Two federal programs produce major reports on crime. The FBI's Uniform Crime Reports measures crime from reports of law enforcement agencies across the country. The Bureau of Justice Statistics produces the National Crime Victimization Survey - compiling information on reported and unreported crimes against the U.S. population.
Uniform Crime Reports - The program was conceived in 1929 by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to meet the need for reliable uniform crime statistics for the nation. In 1930, the FBI was tasked with collecting, publishing, and archiving those statistics. Four annual publications, Crime in the United States, National Incident-Based Reporting System, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and Hate Crime Statistics are produced from data received from over 18,000 city, university/college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies voluntarily participating in the program. Information is available on the Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted (LEOKA) Program and the Hate Crime Statistics Program, as well as the traditional Summary Reporting System (SRS) and the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS).
National Crime Victimization Survey - The Survey is the nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization. Each year, data are obtained from a nationally representative sample of about 90,000 households, comprising nearly 160,000 persons, on the frequency, characteristics, and consequences of criminal victimization in the United States. The NCVS collects information on nonfatal personal crimes (rape or sexual assault, robbery, aggravated and simple assault, and personal larceny) and household property crimes (burglary, motor vehicle theft, and other theft) both reported and not reported to police. Survey respondents provide information about themselves (e.g., age, sex, race and Hispanic origin, marital status, education level, and income) and whether they experienced a victimization. For each victimization incident, the NCVS collects information about the offender (e.g., age, race and Hispanic origin, sex, and victim-offender relationship), characteristics of the crime (including time and place of occurrence, use of weapons, nature of injury, and economic consequences), whether the crime was reported to police, reasons the crime was or was not reported, and victim experiences with the criminal justice system.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data Established in 1978, the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,600 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).
Crime Rates in America - data available from the Brennan Center fro Justice at the NYU School of Law, whose mission on their web pages is to debunk false narratives about crime rates. the site also presents information on other criminal justice topics
, University of Maryland https://www.start.umd.edu/gtd/
National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and the Responses to Terrorism, a Department of Homeland Security Emeritus Center of Excellence led by the University of Maryland. https://www.state.umd.edu .
U.S. Dept of State. Bureau of Counterterrorism, Bureau of Counterterrorism - United States Department of State
The Bureau of Counterterrorism's mission is to promote U.S. national security by taking a leading role in developing coordinated strategies and approaches to defeat terrorism abroad and securing the counterterrorism cooperation of international partners. They publish annual country reports on terrorism., Country Reports on Terrorism - United States Department of State
Although interviews are appropriate when collecting information on long-term drug use, drug markets, and contacts with criminal justice and health systems, information obtained from bioassays provides more objective and reliable data which can be used to more accurately examine changes in drug use over time and in different geographic areas.
Trends and Statistics - There are a variety of sources of information NIDA uses to monitor the prevalence and trends regarding drug abuse in the United States. The resources below cover a variety of drug related issues, including information on drug usage, emergency room data, prevention and treatment programs, and other research findings.
Statistics gathered by the Center on illegal drug use.
Compendium of National Juvenile Justice datasets. The data sets described on this site cover a range of topics. They include, but are not limited to, the characteristics of violent juvenile offenders, student victimization at school, sexual activity, and substance use. Data sources include official records and self-report data from surveys.
Bureau of Justice Statistics National Survey of Youth in Custody
Compilation of reports, surveys and links to other Juvenile Justice agencies.
An annual publication in which the FBI provides data on the number of incidents, offenses, victims, and offenders in reported crimes that were motivated in whole or in part by a bias against the victim’s perceived race, religion, sexual orientation, ethnicity/national origin, or disability.
NCAVP produces two annual national reports on LGBTQ Hate Violence and LGBTQ Intimate Partner Violence, the only national reports of their kind.
Based in Luxembourg, this Court ensures compliance with EU law and rules on the interpretation and application of the treaties establishing the European Union.
The Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX) is an open platform for sharing data, launched in July 2014. The goal of HDX is to make humanitarian data easy to find and use for analysis. Our growing collection of datasets has been accessed by users in over 200 countries and territories.
