A virtual library that aspires to contain all public domain music, as well as music from composers who are willing to share their work with the world without charge.
Broadcasts of free performances given at the Kennedy Center in Washington D.C. by performers from a variety of world cultures. Sponsored by the "Performing Arts for Everyone" initiative, the productions include dance as well as instrumental and vocal music. Searchable by artist/keyword, month and year, and genre.
A keywords-searchable database of sheet music (79,000+ items), audio recordings (3,400+ entries), video recordings, photographs, manuscripts, and other materials owned by the Library of Congress, pertaining to the history of American song. Search results may be limited by format, publication date, subject, geographic location, language, and source.
You must cite the source of any direct quotation and of any facts or ideas you obtained from another source. For more information about how to avoid plagiarism, please watch this brief video from Bainbridge College in YouTube: Plagiarism: How to Avoid It (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2q0NlWcTq1Y).
For tips on citation format, please see the MLA Formatting and Style Guide courtesy of the OWL: Purdue Online Writing Lab (owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/01).
Reference books are shelved by Library of Congress call number on the fourth and fifth floors Haas Library. To learn about LC call numbers, please watch the brief video Reading a Call Number in YouTube (courtesy of the Douglas College Library). Reference books may not be checked out, but free scanners are available for student use on the first floor of the Library (please use your flash drive).
| *Oxford Music Online formerly Grove Music Online | Under Articles/Databases: A-Z on WCSU Libraries Homepage |
| *The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Second edition. 29 volumes. | Ref ML 100.N48 2001 |
| Classical Music Reference Library (Alexander Street Press) | Under Articles/Databases: A-Z on WCSU Libraries Homepage |
| Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online | Under Articles/Databases: A-Z on WCSU Libraries Homepage |
| The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music | Ref ML 105.H38 1996 |
| The Harvard Dictionary of Music. 4th edition. | Ref ML 100.A64 2003 |
| Music Research: A Handbook | Ref ML 113.S28 2009 |
| Music Since 1900 (Slonimsky) | Ref ML 197.S634 2001 |
| The New Grove Dictionary of American Music. 4 volumes. | Ref ML 101.U6.N48 1986 |
| *The Oxford Companion to Music | Ref ML 100.S37 2002 |
| *The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Second edition. | Ref ML 100.K35 1994 |
| The Oxford History of Western Music (Taruskin). 6 volumes. | Ref ML 160.T18 2005 |
| Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians. Centennial edition. 6 volumes. | Ref ML 105.B16 2001 |
| Beethoven and His World: A Biographical Dictionary | Ref ML 410.B4.C62 2001 |
| Brahms and His World: A Biographical Dictionary | Ref ML 410.B8.C54 2006 |
| The Cambridge Handel Encyclopedia | Ref ML 410.H13.C23 2009 |
| The Cambridge Mozart Encyclopedia | Ref ML 410.M9.C257 2006 |
| Chamber Music: A Research and Information Guide. Second edition. | Ref ML 128.C4.B37 2002 |
| The Compleat Brahms: A Guide to the Musical Works... | Ref ML 410.B8.C64 1999 |
| Contemporary Composers | Ref ML 105.C75 1992 |
| Dictionary of American Classical Composers. Second edition. | Ref ML 106.U3.B87 2004 |
| From Convent to Concert Hall: A Guide to Women Composers | Ref ML 82.F76 2003 |
| Haydn (Oxford Composer Companions) | Ref ML 410.H4.H3177 2002 |
| Historical Dictionary of English Music CA. 1400-1958 | Ref ML 101.E5.M34 2011 |
| Historical Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Classical Music | Ref ML 100.G13 2012 |
| Historical Dictionary of Russian Music | Ref ML 101.R8.J34 2012 |
| International Dictionary of Black Composers. 2 volumes. | Ref ML 105.I5 1999 |
| International Encyclopedia of Women Composers. 2 volumes. | Ref ML 105.C7 1987 |
| International Who's Who of Classical Music (Annual) | Ref ML 105.I54 |
| J.S. Bach (Oxford Composer Companions) | Ref ML 410.B1.J15 1999 |
| Latin American Classical Composers: A Biographical Dictionary. Second edition. | Ref ML 105.F53 2002 |
| The Literature of Chamber Music. 4 volumes. | Ref ML 100.C63 1997 |
| Music in the Galant Style | Ref ML 240.3.G54 2007 |
| Notable Twentieth-Century Pianists: A Bio-Critical Sourcebook. 2 volumes. | Ref ML 397.G45 1995 |
| Orchestral Music: A Handbook | Ref ML 128.O5.D3 2005 |
| String Quartets: A Research and Information Guide | Ref ML 128.S68.P37 2005 |
| Women Composers: Music Through the Ages. 7 volumes. | Ref M 2.W88 1996 |
| The Art of the Piano: Its Performers, Literature, and Recordings | Ref ML 105.D8 2004 |
| Encyclopedia of Percussion. Second edition. | Ref ML 102.P4.E5 2007 |
| The Flute Book: A Complete Guide for Students and Performers | Ref ML 935.T65 1996 |
| Guide to the Tuba Repertoire: The New Tuba Source Book | Ref ML 128.T8.T8 2006 |
| The Harpsichord and Clavichord: An Encyclopedia | Ref ML 102.H385.H37 2007 |
| Musical Instruments of the World: An Illustrated Encyclopedia | Ref ML 102.I5.D5 1976 |
| The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments. 3 volumes. | Ref ML 102.I5.N48 1984 |
| The Organ: An Encyclopedia | Ref ML 102.O7.O74 2005 |
| The Oxford Companion to Musical Instruments | Ref ML 102.I5.B34 1992 |
| Percussionists: A Biographical Dictionary | Ref ML 399.B38 2000 |
| The Piano: An Encyclopedia. Second edition. | Ref ML 102.P5.E53 2003 |
| The Violin: A Research and Information Guide | Ref ML 128.V4.K38 2006 |
| Choral Music: A Research and Information Guide | Ref ML 128.C48.S53 2002 |
| Choral Repertoire (Schrock) | Ref ML 128.C48.S57 2009 |
| The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Opera | Ref ML 102.O6.R67 1979 |
| Dies Irae: A Guide to Requiem Music | Ref ML 3088.C43 2003 |
| Encyclopedia of American Opera | Ref ML 102.O6.W53 2006 |
| The Grove Book of Opera Singers | Ref ML 102.O6.G76 2008 |
| The Grove Book of Operas. Second edition. | Ref ML 102.O6.N48 2006 |
| Guide to the Aria Repertoire | Ref ML 128.O4.C53 2007 |
| The Metropolitan Opera Encyclopedia | Ref ML 102.O6.M47 1987 |
| *The New Grove Dictionary of Opera. 4 volumes. | Ref ML 102.O6.N5 1992 |
| Operas in English. 2 volumes. | Ref ML 102.O6.G74 2013 |
| The Schubert Song Companion | Ref ML 410.S3.R265 1985 |
| Stories of the Great Operas. Metropolitan Opera. | Ref MT 95.M49 1984 |
| American Musical Theatre: A Chronicle. Fourth edition. | Ref ML 1711.B67 2010 |
| The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia | Ref ML 102.M88.H59 1995 |
| American Song: The Complete Musical Theatre Companion. Second edition. 2 volumes. | Ref ML 128.M78.B6 1996 |
| American Songwriters | Ref ML 390.E825 1987 |
| Ballanchine's Complete Stories of the Great Ballets | Ref MT 95.B3 1977 |
| Broadway Musicals, 1943-2004 | Ref ML 102.M88.S74 2008 |
| A Chronology of the American Musical Theater. 3 volumes. | Ref ML 1711.8.N3.N67 2002 |
| Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre. 2 volumes. | Ref ML 102.M88.G3 1994 |
| Historical Dictionary of the Broadway Musical | Ref ML 102.M88.E94 2008 |
| International Encyclopedia of Dance. 6 volumes. | Ref GV 1585.I586 2004 |
| Little Musicals for Little Theatres | Ref MT 955.F55 2006 |
| The Musical: A Research and Information Guide | Ref ML 128.M78.E84 2004 |
| Off-Broadway Musicals, 1910-2007 | Ref ML 1711.8.N3.D54 2010 |
| The Oxford Companion to the American Musical | Ref ML 102.M88.H593 2008 |
| The Rodgers and Hammerstein Encyclopedia | Ref ML 102.M88.H595 2007 |
| Stage It with Music: An Encyclopedic Guide to the American Musical Theatre | Ref ML 102.M88.H6 1993 |
| African American Music Reference | Under Articles/Databases: A-Z on WCSU Libraries Homepage |
| American Folk Songs: A Regional Encyclopedia. Second edition. | Ref ML 3551.C55 2008 |
| Companion to Irish Traditional Music. Second edition. | Ref ML 101.I73.C66 2011 |
| Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music | Ref ML 102.G6.E63 2005 |
| Encyclopedia of African-American Music. 3 volumes. | Ref ML 101.U6.E53 2011 |
| The Encyclopedia of Folk, Country and Western Music | Ref ML 102.F66.S7 1984 |
| The Encyclopedia of Native Music | Ref ML 156.4.I5.W75 2005 |
| Encyclopedia of the Blues (Herzhaft) | Ref ML 102.B6.H413 1997 |
| Encyclopedia of the Blues (Komara). 2 volumes. | Ref ML 102.B6.E53 2006 |
| Folk and Blues: The Encyclopedia | Ref ML 102.F66.S74 2001 |
| Free Jazz and Free Improvisation: An Encyclopedia. 2 volumes. | Ref ML 102.J3.J46 2004 |
| The Later Swing Era, 1942-1955 | Ref ML 3518.M33 2004 |
| *The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Second edition. 3 volumes. | Ref ML 102.J3.N48 2002 |
| The Oxford Companion to Jazz | Ref ML 3507.O94 2000 |
| Ragtime: An Encyclopedia... | Ref ML 3530.J373 2007 |
| Richard Cook's Jazz Encyclopedia | Ref ML 102.J3.C66 2005 |
| Satchmo: The Louis Armstrong Encyclopedia | Ref ML 419.A75.M45 2004 |
| The Virgin Encyclopedia of Jazz | Ref ML 3506.V57 2004 |
| Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990. 2 volumes. | Ref ML 102.P66.B35 2004 |
| Caribbean Popular Music | Ref ML 102.P66.M67 2005 |
| Chronology of American Popular Music, 1900-2000 | Ref ML 3477.H64 2008 |
| The Concise Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. 2 volumes. | Ref ML 100.C69 2008 |
| Country Music: A Biographical Dictionary | Ref ML 102.C7.C28 2003 |
| The Elvis Encyclopedia(Adam Victor) | Ref ML 420.P96.V52 2008 |
| The Encyclopedia of Country Music | Ref ML 102.C7.E54 1998 |
| Encyclopedia of Heavy Metal Music | Ref ML 102.R6.P54 2009 |
| Encyclopedia of Indie Rock | Ref ML 102.R6.S63 2008 |
| The Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Third edition. 8 volumes. | Ref ML 102.P66.G84 1998 |
| Encyclopedia of Recorded Sound. 2 volumes. | Ref ML 102.S67.E5 2005 |
| The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Rock History. 6 volumes. | Ref ML 3534.G754 2006 |
| Hip Hop Culture | Ref ML 3531.P75 2006 |
| The Later Swing Era, 1942 to 1955 | Ref ML 3518.M33 2004 |
| Music in Latin America and the Caribbean: An Encyclopedic History | Ref ML 199.M858 |
| Popular Musicians. 4 volumes. | Ref ML 105.P66 1999 |
| The Rolling Stone Encyclopedia of Rock & Roll. Third edition. | Ref ML 102.R6.R64 2001 |
| The Virgin Encyclopedia of Popular Music | Ref ML 102.P66.V57 1999 |
