This page contains resources that can guide you through writing your paper in MLA format. These resources can show you, by example, how to cite resources and format references in MLA style. Detailed description of MLA is available in the MLA Handbook and at the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL).
WCSU Libraries has copies of both MLA 7 and MLA 8. You can go to the circulation desk in either library to use a copy: MLA handbook for writers of research papers.
NOTE: A new version of MLA (MLA 8) was published April 1, 2016 and another version (MLA 9th) in 2021. If your professor requires you use MLA for your work, verify which version they want you to use. There are significant differences between MLA 7, MLA 8 and MLA 9.
Also be aware there are many "tools" that can help you to create citations.
There are a variety of citation managers available. Some are free, some cost money. Some have free versions that have basic functionality and offer advanced versions for a fee.
EasyBib: Provides forms to create citations in MLA 8 or MLA 9 format. Just type in the title of the work and let it do the work. Or you can add information manually. MLA is a free service but to to use this for APA or Chicago you have to create a fee-based account. They also provide a Citation Guide to explain how it is done. This is a simple, web-based product.
BibMe: Provides forms to create citations in MLA 9 format. Just type in the title of the work and let it do the work. Or you can add information manually. They also provide a Citation Guide to explain how it is done. This is a simple, web-based product, very similar to Easybib and owned by the same vendor. Vhegg Group.
Zotero: Zotero automatically senses content in your web browser, allowing you to add it to your personal library with a single click. Whether you're searching for a preprint on arXiv.org, a journal article from JSTOR, a news story from the New York Times or a book from your university library catalog, Zotero has you covered with support for thousands of sites. Zotero also has a Plugin so that it integrates with Microsoft Word or LibreOffice, allowing you to use it to insert citations and create bibliographies as you are writing your paper. There are web-based and stand-alone versions. Works with Firefox and has "connectors" for Chrome, Safari, Opera, and Bookmarklet. See the Download page for details.
Mendeley: Mendeley is a free reference manager and an academic social network. Generate your citations and bibliography as you write, in the style of your choice - with just a few clicks. Compatible with Microsoft Word, LibreOffice and BibTeX. Extensive help guides, tutorials, and videos show how to use Mendeley.
Use these resources to format papers and references in MLA version 8.
Below is a video about MLA 8. It goes through the new formatting style for citations and includes some examples.
