Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.
Featuring comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics, you'll find profiles of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works. Additionally, you can search for essays on publishing houses and literary topics.
Audio and text of the 100 top-rated American public speeches of the 20th century, in rank order of popularity.
Full text of the magazine Vital Speeches of the Day, a monthly collection of the best speeches in the world, published since 1934.
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Films Media Group serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware.
A searchable database of Academy Award winners and nominees. Includes acceptance speeches. Sponsored by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS).
Official website of the British Film Institute's archival collections.
Detailed descriptions of film and television productions worldwide. Includes biographical information about cast and production crew.
Lists of the 25 American films selected each year since 1989 by the National Film Preservation Board for special recognition and preservation, based on their cultural, historical, and aesthetic significance.
Journalism and Broadcasting Resources
Founded in 1997 by the Pew Research Center, this site provides essays, articles, reports, and datasets for journalists and journalism students.
Project Syndicate provides syndicated news analyses and commentaries from around the world. The organization receives support from the Gates Foundation and the European Climate Foundation with the goal of supporting the growth of global independent news media.
Public broadcasting system of the United Kingdom (U.K.).
Public news and radio broadcasting system of the United States.
Public television broadcasting system of the United States.
It's a vital skill, for any student, professor, or independent researcher, to be able to evaluate the sources they come across in their research. You need to be able to determine if sources are useful to you and your projecest and whether or not they contain reliable information.
To understand the basics of evaluating sources of information you find on the web, watch the video below:
From the kinds of sources available, to the way each is designed to search, Academic Databases and Google operate very differently. Knowing these differences will allow you to use each resource to your full advantage, because being able to do so will directly affect your success in navigating college-level academic research!
Check out the video below to see some of the key differences between Academic Databases and Google!
You may have heard of, or even used Google Scholar in the past to search for articles. Like base Google, it can be a great tool when used correctly. Not everything that appears on Google Scholar will be accessible to you, so to make sure that it is, watch this video, or read the description below, to see how to connect the WCSU Libraries' catalog and list of databases to your search function:
In addition to WestSearch and the libraries' subscription databases, Google Scholar can be a great way to find articles for your research. But if you want to be able to access full-text articles, you must update your settings in Google to link the search results to our libraries' databases.
1. Go to Google Scholar
2. Log in to your Google account
7. Click Save.
Now, when you search Google Scholar, the text "WCSU Journal Finder," will appear to the right of articles that we have available in our databases.
