Guides: Creative & Professional Writing Guide: Journalism

Journalism Databases & Resources

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
WestSearch This link opens in a new window
WestSearch provides simple, one-stop searching of the WCSU Libraries' resources including books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 200 videos.
EBSCO Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search all EBSCO provided databases simultaneously.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Communication Source (formerly Communication and Mass Media Complete) This link opens in a new window
Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. GoogleScholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains a comprehensive backfile (current issues not available) of scholarly journals, current open access articles, and select current scholarly journal subscriptions spanning more than 20 disciplines including business & economics, education, science, history, and language & literature - all in full text
TOPICSearch This link opens in a new window
TOPICsearch contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
WATCH File
The WATCH file (Writers Artists and Their Copyright Holders) is a database of copyright contacts for writers, artists, and prominent figures in other creative fields. This resources is maintained jointly by the University of Texas at Austin's Harry Ransom Center and the University of Reading Library, UK.
Writer's Web This link opens in a new window
A free, public-access handbook for writers, designed and maintained by students and faculty at the University of Richmond. Includes a section on documentation.

British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) This link opens in a new window
Public broadcasting system of the United Kingdom (U.K.).
Brooklyn Newstand This link opens in a new window
A searchable historical collection of Brooklyn newspapers - The Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1841-1955), Brooklyn Life (1890-1924) and Brooklyn Life and Activities of Long Island Society (1924 -1931) made available by the Brooklyn Public Library.
Chicago Tribune - Current
This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc. Coverage: (1985 - Present)
Christian Science Monitor This link opens in a new window
A major newspaper covering national and international news and noted for unbiased, concise, and comprehensive coverage. Coverage: 1988-current. NOTE: Changed from a daily to a weekly paper in 2009.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1925 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Hartford Courant - Current This link opens in a new window
Daily newspaper from Hartford, Connecticut. Coverage: 1992-current. See Hartford Courant - Historical for coverage of older materials.
Hartford Courant - Historical This link opens in a new window
Full-page coverage from issue 1, volume 1 of the newspaper starting in 1764 with coverage to December 31, 1922. This searchable digital archive of more than 280,000 pages of important historical content offers article-level search results, article zoning and edited metadata, including headlines, bylines and first paragraphs.
Los Angeles Times - Current This link opens in a new window
This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc. Coverage: 1985 - Present
MainFILE This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to journals, magazine, newspapers, and trade publications as well as profiles on companies, people, products, and more.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
National Public Radio (NPR) This link opens in a new window
Public news and radio broadcasting system of the United States.
New York Times - Current This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage: 1980-current.
New York Times - Historical This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspaper-the definitive digital archive-offers full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. This resource covers the complete run of The New York Times, from the first issue in 1851 up to 2007, and includes millions of pages.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes Christian Science Monitor, the historical and current New York Times, Los Angeles Times, the historical and current Hartford Courant, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
ProQuest Historical Black Newspaper Collection
ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers is a collection of distinguished African American newspapers in the U.S. including the Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Cleveland Call and Post, and Michigan Chronicle. The Louisville Defender will be added in late 2022. Coverage Range: 1893 - 2010
Stamford Advocate Current and Historical Collection
Research Stamford history through the Stamford Advocate Collection with coverage from 1829 through current. Study trends, issues, events, advertisements, companies and more through historical and current full newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Eastern edition and online versions. Updated daily.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post is a newspaper resource for news, political analysis, and coverage of national and international trends and events. Full-text coverage from 1987-present.

Books on Reserve

Journalism Course Reserves
Books placed on the course reserve shelves, at the Haas or Young Libraries, related to Journalism.

eBooks on Journalism

Full-Text eBooks on Journalism
A canned search in WestSearch for eBooks on and related to the subject and practice of Journalism. Note, some books may have physical copies that you may request.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Ebook Central is the new platform for Ebrary collections and additional scholarly ebooks across academic disciplines.
eBook Collection on EBSCOhost (WCSU) This link opens in a new window
Search and view thousands of full text eBooks.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.

Physical Books on Journalism

Books on Journalism
A canned search in WestSearch for physical books, located in either the Haas Library or Young Library, on or related to journalism.

Using statistics can be a great way to back up your arguments! Here are a few links that can help in your search for supportive data:

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Not only is there information on US labor statistics here, but also a list of other trusted statistical organizations from around the globe collecting data on countless topics.
Uniform Crime Reports, FBI
Federal Bureau of Investigation. Uniform Crime Reporting
U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics
compiled by the U. S. Dept. of Justice. Office of Justice Programs.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Federal grant funded website of the University of Albany with statistics, current had historical, on criminal justice characteristics, crime and victims, courts, and more
Statistical Abstract of the United States
As of 2012, no longer compiled and published. Historical statistics available. Use WestSearch for more current editions.

Creative & Professional Writing Guide

Need Research Help?

Need to talk to a librarian about your research project?

Journalism Databases & Resources

Books on Reserve

eBooks on Journalism

Physical Books on Journalism