Guides: Creative & Professional Writing Guide: Find Writing Resources

Finding Resources on the Web

WCSU Writing Center

Located on the third floor of the Ruth A. Haas Library on the Midtown Campus! The Writing Center assists students with writing and formatting their papers no matter what discipline they're coming from or what topic they're writing about.

Click Here to be taken to the Writing Center's website.

Click Here to be taken to their appointment booking system. Note: The Writing Center asks that you reserve at least one hour between the end of your appointment and the due-time of your assignment.

Still not sure about the Writing Center? Hear about them in their own words:

Visit the Writing Center for free, one-to-one help with all your writing projects. We provide resources, strategies and techniques across disciplines and genres that help you improve your writing.

We will work with you in person or online at any stage of your writing process, from understanding your purpose and brainstorming ideas to discovering revision strategies. We can help you with:

reviewing assignment guidelines
generating and developing ideas
organizing long projects
organizing within and across paragraphs
evaluating and integrating research
documenting sources
improving sentence structure and style
recognizing technical errors
…and all other writing matters.

Dictionaries

Collins Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries in 5 languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Italian.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Featuring comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics, you'll find profiles of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works. Additionally, you can search for essays on publishing houses and literary topics.
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Online version of the popular dictionary.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, scholarly English-language dictionary based on historical principles, published by the Oxford University Press.

Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files. Updated regularly.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search across Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online and Literature Criticism Online for a single results list.
Glossary of Poetic Terms This link opens in a new window
This glossary of poetic terms is produced and maintained, with free access, by the Poetry Foundation.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
In-depth, original profiles combined with full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of source material (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). Biography Reference Bank offers a breadth and depth of information you’ll find in no other biography database. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
MLA International Bibliography (Language & Literature) This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.

Writer's Web This link opens in a new window
A free, public-access handbook for writers, designed and maintained by students and faculty at the University of Richmond. Includes a section on documentation.
American Rhetoric: Top 100 Speeches of the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
Audio and text of the 100 top-rated American public speeches of the 20th century, in rank order of popularity.
MagillOnLiterature Plus
MagillOnLiterature Plus provides access to literary works, reviewed critical analyses, and brief plot summaries tas well as all the biographies and author essays.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
OpenDissertations (formerly American Doctoral Dissertations) This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations now includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. It is a free database with records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world. Full text of dissertations available by clicking on URL in each record to link to participating institution's digital collection.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Project Syndicate This link opens in a new window
Project Syndicate provides syndicated news analyses and commentaries from around the world. The organization receives support from the Gates Foundation and the European Climate Foundation with the goal of supporting the growth of global independent news media.
Vital Speeches of the Day This link opens in a new window
Full text of the magazine Vital Speeches of the Day, a monthly collection of the best speeches in the world, published since 1934.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.

Creative & Professional Writing Guide

Need Research Help?

Need to talk to a librarian about your research project?

Finding Resources on the Web

WCSU Writing Center

Still not sure about the Writing Center? Hear about them in their own words:

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias