Below you'll find a list of web resources pertaining to Finance.
FINANCE NEWS
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage: 1980-current.
STOCKS, TRADING, EXCHANGES
GOVERNMENT AND ORGANIZATION INFO
Learn about the structure and purpose of the Federal Reserve and how its actions impact not just the US economy, and financial institutions, but individual investors and savers alike.
Federal Open Market Committee
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.
Finance Watch is an independent non-profit Members’ association set up in 2011 to act as a public interest counterweight to the powerful financial lobby.
DATA AND STATISTICS
Economic Research at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
A trusted source for federal statistical information since 1997. FedStats supports a community of practice for over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, and provides the public with a showcase of information, tools and news related to official Federal statistics.
USA.gov is a platform for searching across multiple government agencies for information on statistics, services, and more.
OTHER USEFUL RESOURCES
Information on restructuring companies
It's a vital skill, for any student, professor, or independent researcher, to be able to evaluate the sources they come across in their research. You need to be able to determine if sources are useful to you and your projecest and whether or not they contain reliable information.
To understand the basics of evaluating sources of information you find on the web, watch the video below:
From the kinds of sources available, to the way each is designed to search, Academic Databases and Google operate very differently. Knowing these differences will allow you to use each resource to your full advantage, because being able to do so will directly affect your success in navigating college-level academic research!
Check out the video below to see some of the key differences between Academic Databases and Google!
You may have heard of, or even used Google Scholar in the past to search for articles. Like base Google, it can be a great tool when used correctly. Not everything that appears on Google Scholar will be accessible to you, so to make sure that it is, watch this video, or read the description below, to see how to connect the WCSU Libraries' catalog and list of databases to your search function:
In addition to WestSearch and the libraries' subscription databases, Google Scholar can be a great way to find articles for your research. But if you want to be able to access full-text articles, you must update your settings in Google to link the search results to our libraries' databases.
1. Go to Google Scholar
2. Log in to your Google account
7. Click Save.
Now, when you search Google Scholar, the text "WCSU Journal Finder," will appear to the right of articles that we have available in our databases.
