6 Prayers - a Holocaust Memorial             At work in her studio

She was a textile designer, weaver, printmaker and writer “who inspired a reconsideration of fabrics as an art form.” She met her husband, Josef at the Bauhaus in 1922. They married in Berlin in 1925 and left Nazi Germany when the Bauhaus was closed in 1933. They accepted teaching positions at Black Mountain College in North Carolina. One of the founders of the school was Katherine Dreier's (profiled in this section) nephew.  They remained there until 1949 when the college closed. They moved to New Haven in 1950 to teach at Yale University. 

The Josef and Anni Albers Foundation, https://albersfoundation.org/artists/biographies/

 The Josef and Annie Albers Foundation, Weaving Studio, https://albersfoundation.org/about-us/weaving-studio/  (image source)

Annnie Albers Exhibition at the Tate Modern,  https://findingtimetowrite.wordpress.com/2018/12/16/anni-albers-exhibition-at-the-tate-modern/  (image source)

Wikipedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anni_Albers

Aware: Archives of women artists research and exhibitions, https://awarewomenartists.com/en/artiste/anni-albers/  (image source)

Bandbox decoration with image of Rhino      Decorated Guilford blanket chest       Drawing of copper tea kettle

Isabella  began painting while attending public school in Meriden. She went on to attend the Yale School of Art, graduating in 1909.  She taught, work as an illustrator of children’s books, as a designer for publishers and a decorator of antique furniture.  In 1936 she worked on the Index of Design for the WPA (Works Progress Administration). She created 62 works for the WPA, many for public buildings throughout Connecticut. During WWII she worked in a defense plant in their drawing department. The National Gallery of Art in Washington, D. C. holds twenty of her works and the Connecticut State Library has created a list of her works held in the Connecticut archives.

National Gallery of Art, https://www.nga.gov/collection/artist-info.7447.html   (images source)

Connecticut State Library, https://ctstatelibrary.org/doerfler-isabella-ruth/ 

Picture of Dreier in her studio       Three lectures on Modern Art book         Painting of Stonington Harbor

An artist, teacher and collector of modern art, she was.one of the founders of the Societe Anonyme along with Marcel Duchamp and Man Ray. An avid promoter of modern art, she organized exhibitions, lectured and wrote to promote an understanding of the movement.  With her sisters, she built a summer home in Stonington Connecticut. Her painting of Stonington Harbor is well known.    She lived on Long Ridge Road in Danbury and later moved to Milford Ct. when she donated the Societe Anonyme art collection to Yale University. Her personal collection was dispersed to museums throughout the country by her long time friend and executor of her will, Marcel Duchamp. 

Guggenheim Collection Online, https://www.guggenheim.org/history/katherine-s-dreier (image source)

The Art Story, Katherine Dreier https://www.theartstory.org/artist/dreier-katherine/life-and-legacy/ (image source)

Francis M. Naumann Fine Art,  http://www.francisnaumann.com/Dreier/Dreier06.html  (image source)

                                                        Queen Elizabeth                                                 Andie Warhol

 An iconic portrait photographer, she was born in Waterbury, one of six children in her family. She studied at the San Francisco Art Institute where she developed her interest in photography. In 1970 she was hired by the startup magazine Rolling Stone. She soon became chief photographer and held that position for 10 years. In 1983 she went to work for Vanity Fair, where her cover portraits of celebrities have often been controversial. In 1991 the National Portrait Gallery staged an exhibit of 200 of her pictures. She was the first woman to have that distinction. She has done advertising campaigns and several exhibitions of her work have been staged in recent years. Several retrospectives of her career and her art have been published.

Connecticut Women’s Hall of Fame,  https://www.cwhf.org/inductees/annie-leibovitz  (image source)

Biography, Annie LIebowitz https://www.biography.com/artist/annie-leibovitz 

Hunger TV, A look Back . . .   https://www.hungertv.com/editorial/look-back-at-annie-leibovitz-era-defining-photos-from-the-70s-and-early-80s/ (image source)

New York Times, Picture this   https://www.nytimes.com/2008/12/14/books/review/Mallon-t.html  (image source)

Maya Lin at the Vietnam War memorial     The Vietnam War Memorial                 Blue Lake Pass sculpture

Born in Athens, Ohio, Maya attended Yale University and while an undergraduate in 1981 entered a competition sponsored by the Vietnam Veterans Memorial Fund.  The selection of her design created a lot of controversy. A compromise was reached with the installation of three statues at the entrance to the memorial.  The memorial was dedicated on Veterans Day in 1982.  To escape the notoriety, she went to Harvard to study architecture but returned to Yale and completed her architectural studies in 1986.    Another of her famous memorials is the Civil Rights Memorial for the Southern Law Poverty Center erected in Montgomery, Alabama in 1989. The American Institute of Architects gave the Vietnam Memorial its 25-year Award in recognition of its enduring worth. 

Academy of Achievement, Maya Lin https://achievement.org/achiever/maya-lin/

Britannica,  https://www.britannica.com/biography/Maya-Lin 

WikiArt: visual art encyclopedia  https://www.wikiart.org/en/maya-lin/all-works#!#filterName:all-paintings-chronologically,resultType:masonry 

Lewis, Michael J. The Right Way to Memorialize an Unpopular War, New York Times, 9/11/2017 https://www.nytimes.com/2017/09/11/books/review/james-reston-jr-a-rift-in-the-earth.html  (image source)

Art 21,   https://art21.org/artist/maya-lin/

Sculpture Magazine , https://sculpturemagazine.art/maya-lin/   (image source)

AIA. Muted but Monumental,  https://www.aia.org/articles/6143509-muted-but-monumental-the-vietnam-veterans-:16  (image source)

                                              James Weldon Johnson           Marian Anderson                       W. E. B. Du Bois

She was a major artist of the Harlem Renaissance.  Her father was the pastor of the Talcott Street Congregational Church, the first all-black church in Connecticut.  After graduating from Hartford Public High School, she enrolled in the Pennsylvania Academy of Art, graduating in 1914 (becoming the 6th generation of college graduates in her family). She was awarded a scholarship for travel and went to Paris to study art. With the outbreak of WWI she returned to teach at the all-black Cheney Training School for Teachers in Philadelphia, where she founded the art and music departments and chaired both departments for 30 years. She made several trips to Europe and in 1927 married Walter E. Waring. She became acquainted with figures in the Harlem Renaissance and in 1928 her work was included in the Harmon Foundation exhibit. She became famous for her portraiture and the Foundation asked her to paint portraits of influential African Americans. They are viewed by many as her way of participating in the beginnings of the civil rights movement.  As a member of the NAACP she was a contributing artist to its’ monthly publication, The Crisis. 

Connecticut Women’s Hall of Fame, https://www.cwhf.org/inductees/laura-wheeler-waring 

The Johnson Collection, https://thejohnsoncollection.org/laura-waring/

Explore PA history, http://explorepahistory.com/displayimage.php?imgId=1-2-237  (image source)

Wikipedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laura_Wheeler_Waring   (images source)

Laure W. Waring School, Philadelphia. https://waring.philasd.org/  (mage source)