Guides: Linguistics: Find Articles

TIPS

A few things to keep in mind while searching for articles:

choose your databases carefully, and try more than one!
there are ALOT of articles in the databases, so it's best to know what you are looking for when you start
some artilces are in full-text, some are not; leave yourself enough time to have articles delivered from other libraries!
some articles are scholarly, some are popular; which does your prof want you to use?
be creative when selecting search words, sometimes there are words that are more descriptive
use the word AND when connecting search words; this is a good habit to develop
try to avoid more than 2-word phrases; databases don't do great with sentences
use truncation (*) to save time, but don't cut the word off too early!
be as focused as possible when selecting from results list, you don't want things that are wildly different from each other
be open-minded about your topic; you may find your research going in a different direction and that's OK

Also - ASK for help when you need it! That's what that chat box is for....

Databases for Linguistics

Select a database from the short list below, or browse the full list of library databases.

Communication Source (formerly Communication and Mass Media Complete) This link opens in a new window
Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains a comprehensive backfile (current issues not available) of scholarly journals, current open access articles, and select current scholarly journal subscriptions spanning more than 20 disciplines including business & economics, education, science, history, and language & literature - all in full text
MLA International Bibliography (Language & Literature) This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.

Ask Veronica

Veronica Kenausis
203-837-8818
kenausisv@wcsu.edu

CITE THIS!

You will be required to cite your sources in proper MLA bibliographic format. We have some guides and pages linked below that can help you with that construction, but be aware that many databases (and web sites) have a Cite This button that will format the citation for you! Take advantage of this!

Visit our MLA Citation Style Guide for rules and tips.