| Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language | Ref P 29.C64 1987 |
| Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language. First edition. | Ref PE 1072.C68 1995 |
| Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language. Second edition. | Ref PE 1072.C68 2004 |
| Dictionary of Language and Linguistics | Ref P 29.H34 1972 |
| Encyclopaedia of Language | 3rd Floor - P 106.A46 1990 |
| Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence. 2 volumes. | Ref BF 431.E59 1994 |
| Encyclopedia of Semiotics | Ref P 99.E64 1998 |
| Encyclopedic Dictionary of Language and Languages | Ref P 29.C68 1992 |
| Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Sciences of Language | Ref P 29.D813 1979 |
| A Glossary of Morphology | Ref P 241.B378 2004 |
| Glossary of Linguistic Terminology | Ref P 29.P39 1966 |
| A Glossary of Sociolinguistics (Trudgill) | Ref P 40.T747 2003 |
| The Handbook of Applied Linguistics | Ref P 129.H33 2004 |
| Handbook of Bilingualism | Ref P 115.H365 2004 |
| Handbook of English Linguistics | Ref PE 1106.A27 2006 |
| International Encyclopedia of Communications. 4 volumes. | Ref P 87.5.I15 1989 |
| International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. First edition. 4 volumes. | Ref P 29.I58 1992 |
| International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. Second edition. 4 volumes. | Ref P 29.I58 2003 |
| Language and Communication: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia | Ref P 29.F47 1998 |
| The Linguistics Encyclopedia. Second edition. | Ref P 29.L52 2002 |
| Literary, Rhetorical, and Linguistics Terms Index | Ref P 29.5.U72 1983 |
| The Oxford Companion to the English Language | Ref PE 31.O94 1992 |
| Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics | Ref P 29.B875 1996 |
| Semiotics and Languages: An Analytical Dictionary | Ref P 99.G6913 1982 |
| The World's Major Languages | Ref P 371.W6 1987 |
| American Heritage Dictionary of Indo-European Roots | Ref P 615.A43 1985 |
| Barnhardt Dictionary of Etymology | Ref PE 1580.B35 1988 |
| A Browser's Dictionary (Ciardi) | Ref PE 1574.C55 1980 |
| Encyclopedia of Word and Phrase Origins | Ref PE 689.H47 1987 |
| Etymological Dictionary of the English Language | Ref PE 1580.S5 1961 |
| The Facts on File Encyclopedia of Word and Phrase Origins. Third edition. | Ref PE 1689.H47 2004 |
| Ologies and Isms: A Dictionary of Word Beginnings and Endings | Ref PE 1175.Q46 2002 |
| Origins: A Short Etymological Dictionary. 2 volumes. | Ref PE 1580.P3 1966 |
| Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology | Ref PE 1580.O5 1969 |
| Spoonerisms, Sycophants, and Sops | Ref PE 1574.B57 1988 |
| The African Heritage of American English | Ref PE 102.N4.H65 1993 |
| The American Language: An Inquiry into the Development of English in the United States. 3 volumes. (H. L. Mencken) | Ref PN 2808.M4 1936 |
| Anglo-Norman Dictionary. 7 fascicles. | Ref PC 2946.M6 1977 |
| Anglo-Saxon Dictionary. 2 volumes. | Ref PE 279.B52 1980 |
| The Atlas of North American English: Phonetics, Phonology and Sound Change | Ref PE 2808.L26 2006 |
| British English A to Zed | Ref PE 1704.S38 1987 |
| British English for American Readers | Ref PE 1704.G67 1992 |
| Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages | Ref P 371.C357 2004 |
| Cambridge History of the English Language | Ref PE 1072.C36 |
| Dictionary of American English on Historical Principles. 4 volumes. | Ref PE 2835.C7 1938 |
| Dictionary of American Regional English. 4 volumes. | Ref PE 2843.D52 |
| Dictionary of Americanisms on Historical Principles | Ref PE 2835.D5 1951 |
| Dictionary of the English Language (reprint of the 1755 edition by Samuel Johnson) | Ref PE 1620.J6 1979 |
| Encyclopedia of the Languages of Europe | Ref P 380.E53 1998 |
| English Dialect Dictionary. 6 volumes. | Ref PE 1766.E54 1898 |
| Ethnologue: Languages of the World. 15th edition. | Ref P 371.E83 2005 |
| A Guide to World Language Dictionaries | Ref P 361.D25 1998 |
| Handbook of Middle English | Ref PE 535.M62 1988 |
| Handbook of Varieties of English. 3 volumes. Includes computer file. | Ref PE 1711.H36 2004 |
| Linguistic Atlas of Late Mediaeval English. 4 volumes. | Ref PE 1705.M35 1986 |
| Middle English Dictionary. Many volumes. (Kurath) | Ref PE 679.M54 |
| Middle-English Dictionary (Stratmann) | Ref PE 679.S7 1986 |
| Oxford English Dictionary. Second edition. 20 volumes. | Ref PE 1625.M7 1989 |
| Guide to the Oxford English Dictionary | Ref PE 1617.O94.B47 1993 |
| Third Barnhardt Dictionary of New English | Ref PE 1630.B3 1990 |
| The Appropriate Word: Finding the Best Way to Say What You Mean | Ref PE 1591.H66 1990 |
| The Cambridge Grammar of the English Language | Ref PE 1106.H74 2002 |
| The Cambridge Guide to English Usage | Ref PE 1464.P47 2004 |
| The Careful Writer: A Modern Guide to English Usage (Bernstein) | Ref PE 1460.B4617 |
| Chicago Manual of Style. 14th edition. | Ref Z 253.U69 1993 |
| Columbia Guide to Standard American English (Wilson) | Ref PE 2835.W55 1993 |
| Dictionary of American-English Usage (Nicholson) | Ref PE 2835.N5 1957 |
| Dictionary of Contemporary American Usage (Evans) | Ref PE 2835.E84 1957 |
| Dictionary of Modern English Usage. Second edition. (Fowler) | Ref PE 1628.F65 1965 |
| Frequency Analysis of English Usage (Francis) | Ref PE 2839.F7 1982 |
| Garner's Modern American Usage | Ref PE 2827.G37 2003 |
| Harper Dictionary of Contemporary Usage (Morris) | Ref PE 1680.M59 1985 |
| International English Usage (Morris) | Ref PE 1460.T64 1987 |
| Modern American Usage: A Guide (Follett) | 3rd Floor - PE 2835.F6 1966 |
| Oxford Dictionary of English Grammar | Ref PE 1097.C47 1994 |
| Usage and Abusage (Partridge) | 3rd Floor - PE 1460.P27 1995 |
| Webster's New World Guide to Current American Usage | Ref PE 2835.R36 1988 |
| Dictionary of Sexual Slang | Ref HQ 9.R53 1993 |
| Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional English | Ref PE 3721.P3 1984 |
| Gutter Life and Language in the Early "Street" Literature of England | Ref PE 3724.O3.H44 1988 |
| Juba to Jive: A Dictionary of African-American Slang | Ref PE 3727.N4.M34 1994 |
| The Language of the Civil War | Ref E 468.9.W755 2001 |
| Mobspeak: The Dictionary of Crime Terms | Ref HV 6017.S54 2003 |
| New Dictionary of American Slang | Ref PE 2846.C46 1986 |
| Oxford Dictionary of Modern Slang | Ref PE 3721.O94 1992 |
| Prison Slang: Words and Expressions Depicting Life Behind Bars | Ref PE 3727.P74.B46 1992 |
| Random House Historical Dictionary of American Slang. Vol. 1: A-G | Ref PE 2846.H57 1994 |
| Slang & Sociability | Ref PE 3727.S8.E255 1996 |
| Thesaurus of American Slang | Ref PE 2846.C465 1989 |
| Thesaurus of Slang | Ref PE 3721.L45 1988 |
| War Slang: Fighting Words and Phrases of Americans... | Ref PE 3727.S7.D53 1994 |
| The American Heritage Dictionary of Idioms | Ref PE 2839.A47 1997 |
| The American Heritage Dictionary of Phrasal Verbs | Ref PE 1319.A57 2005 |
| Catch Phrases, Cliches and Idioms: A Dictionary of Familiar Expressions | Ref PE 1689.C74 1990 |
| Dictionary of American Idioms. Second edition. | Ref PE 2839.D5 1987 |
| Dictionary of Cliches | Ref PE 1689.R65 1989 |
| Dictionary of Jargon | Ref PE 1689.G73 1987 |
| Dictionary of the American West | Ref PE 2970.W4.B5 1992 |
| Dictionary of the Old West | Ref PE 2970.W4.W3 1976 |
| Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education | Ref LC 3707.E53 1998 |
| An Encyclopedia of Swearing | Ref PE 3724 O3.H84 2006 |
| The Facts on File Dictionary of Cliches | Ref PE 1689.A48 2001 |
| Have a Nice Day--No Problem! A Dictionary of Cliches | Ref PE 1689.A48 1991 |
| How Not to Say What You Mean: A Dictionary of Euphemisms | Ref PE 1449.H548 2002 |
| Informal English | Ref PE 2835.K33 2005 |
| In the Field: The Language of the Vietnam War | Ref PE 3727.S7.R4 1991 |
| Loanwords Dictionary | Ref PE 1670.L58 1988 |
| Mountain Range: A Dictionary of Expressions from Appalachia to the Ozarks | Ref PE 2970.A6.H46 1997 |
| Nonsexist Word Finder: A Dictionary of Gender-Free Usage | Ref PE 1689.M23 1987 |
| O Brave New World! Native American Loanwords in Current English | Ref PE 3102.I55.C88 1994 |
| The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms | Ref PE 1464.O94 2004 |
| Sahibs, Nabobs, and Boxwallahs: A Dictionary of the Words of Anglo-India | Ref PE 3502.I64.L49 1991 |
| Sports Talk: A Dictionary of Sports Metaphors | Ref PE 1689.P27 1989 |
| Western Lore and Language: A Dictionary for Enthusiasts of the American West | Ref PE 2970.W4.C58 1996 |
| Words of the Vietnam War | Ref PE 3727.S7.C57 1990 |
