Scholarly Sources are different from popular magazines, such as Time, Sports Illustrated, and People. Scholarly journals are authored by academics who are experts in their field of study who are usually affiliated with a college or university. They are intended to be read by academic audiences such as professors, researchers, and students with the goal of sharing and promoting scholarly research.
Unlike a popular magazine, a scholarly journal is unlikely to be printed on glossy paper, may not contain advertisements, and whose articles will be followed by lengthy bibliographies. You won't find them at magazine stands. You will find them in scholarly databases available through the library.
A peer-reviewed article is, of course, also a scholarly resource. But some professors may specify that all sources used in a research paper be from peer-reviewed journals. A peer-reviewed journal relies on experts in a particular field to judge whether or not an article should be published in its journal. For example, if you submitted an article on Covid-19, it would be reviewed by epidemiologists - peers - who are experts within that particular field.
It's simple to limit searches to peer-reviewed articles. When you click on "Advanced Search" links in databases, there will be a box you can click on that will ensure only articles found in peer-reviewed journals will be returned in the search.
Below is a list of scholarly databases that contain journals, articles, and research related to Education and Educational Psychology.
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
This resource summarizes current knowledge and advances in research and theory on attitudes and social cognition regarding human nature and tendencies, thought processes in judgment and behavior, and human experiences and motivations.
The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe.
The standard diagnostic tool used by mental health professionals worldwide to promote reliable research, accurate diagnosis, and thus appropriate treatment and patient care. Each psychiatric disorder with its corresponding diagnostic code is accompanied by a set of diagnostic criteria and descriptive details including associated features, prevalence, familial patterns, age-, culture-, and gender-specific features, and differential diagnosis.
ProQuest's Ebook Central is the new platform for Ebrary collections and additional scholarly ebooks across academic disciplines.
Search and view thousands of full text eBooks.
Search all EBSCO provided databases simultaneously.
Education Source Ultimate covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for over 2500 journals, with full-text for over 2400 journals, eBooks, and numerous education-related conference papers. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Education Week features daily news, commentary and analysis on policy, legislative and overall shifts and trends in the U.S. K-12 space. Teacher Channel has daily news, stories and content focused on the teaching profession, including videos, case studies and best practices. Digital Directions covers education technology trends and insights, geared towards IT specialists and media/technology professionals. State Highlight Reports provide over 40 data indicators to assess and compare performance in key areas, by state. And there are 33 years of fully-searchable archives, so you can research and focus on specific hot-button issues and events.
Please provide any feedback, pros and cons, related to the content and how it is important to your work through this online survey: http://wcsu.libsurveys.com/edweek
Educational Resources Information Center - definitive education database indexing articles and ERIC documents.
Database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers. With information about tests from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest compilation in the world.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. GoogleScholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
Produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, HaPI is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from Education are included. HaPI Records provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, & more.
Contains a comprehensive backfile (current issues not available) of scholarly journals, current open access articles, and select current scholarly journal subscriptions spanning more than 20 disciplines including business & economics, education, science, history, and language & literature - all in full text
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing.Mental Measurements Yearbook
Mometrix eLibrary provides unlimited, simultaneous access to Praxis exam study materials.
OpenDissertations now includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. It is a free database with records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world. Full text of dissertations available by clicking on URL in each record to link to participating institution's digital collection.
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. Includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older works.
A Definitive Source of Full-Text, Peer-Reviewed Scholarly and Scientific Articles in Psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA). This full-text psychology database contains articles from highly-cited and landmark journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. Content from over 100 journals.
Psychotherapy.net is a resource for training and continuing education for therapists. Our subscription provides a library of 100 training videos featuring the leading practitioners of the field as well as articles, interviews, blogs, and more.
This database is the APA's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed. Topics included are Pharmacology, Psychiatry, Business, Education, and Law. Currently indexes over 2,500 journals. Articles for which full-text is not available can be ordered via interlibrary loan.
PubMed indexes and abstracts more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
SAGE is a leading international publisher of journals, books, and electronic media for academic, educational, and professional markets.
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 500 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
The collection captures the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources are broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from conservative to anarchist.
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
Provides access to Social Sciences Citation Index, including current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the wo
Education Source Ultimate covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for over 2500 journals, with full-text for over 2400 journals, eBooks, and numerous education-related conference papers. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
Educational Resources Information Center - definitive education database indexing articles and ERIC documents.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
A Definitive Source of Full-Text, Peer-Reviewed Scholarly and Scientific Articles in Psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA). This full-text psychology database contains articles from highly-cited and landmark journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. Content from over 100 journals.
This database is the APA's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed. Topics included are Pharmacology, Psychiatry, Business, Education, and Law. Currently indexes over 2,500 journals. Articles for which full-text is not available can be ordered via interlibrary loan.
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
