The WCSU Libraries are celebrating Black History by curating this mini collection of books, music, art, films, talks, podcasts, and notable websites. The collection includes books you can borrow from the Haas and Young Libraries and from the libraries in the CSCU library consortium (i.e., the 12 Community Colleges, 4 Connecticut State Universities, and the CT State Library).
Digital access to texts, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music in the collections of the Library of Congress and other federal government agencies, documenting the American experience. Arranged by topic, American Memory is also keywords searchable.
This ProQuest website features select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history and the ongoing fight against racial injustice in the U.S. The documents presented here represent a selection of resources available in several ProQuest databases including American Periodicals, Black Abolitionist Papers, ProQuest History Vault, ProQuest Congressional, Supreme Court Insight, and Alexander Street’s Black Thought and Culture.
Gives background information on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness. It also includes a collection of points of view essays offering solutions to issues related to race.
The collection captures the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources are broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from conservative to anarchist.
