Guides: History Guide: Find Newspapers

Find and Search Newspapers

Newspapers are great resources for historical information!

Below you'll find access to a number of current and historical newspaper databases and archives. Some of these newspapers are free/open access, and others are available through subscriptions paid by the WCSU Libraries. The latter kind will require you to sign in to access using your WCSU username and password.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside
Hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years
British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) This link opens in a new window
Public broadcasting system of the United Kingdom (U.K.).
Brooklyn Newstand This link opens in a new window
A searchable historical collection of Brooklyn newspapers - The Brooklyn Daily Eagle (1841-1955), Brooklyn Life (1890-1924) and Brooklyn Life and Activities of Long Island Society (1924 -1931) made available by the Brooklyn Public Library.
Chicago Tribune - Current
This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc. Coverage: (1985 - Present)
Christian Science Monitor This link opens in a new window
A major newspaper covering national and international news and noted for unbiased, concise, and comprehensive coverage. Coverage: 1988-current. NOTE: Changed from a daily to a weekly paper in 2009.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1925 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Hartford Courant - Current This link opens in a new window
Daily newspaper from Hartford, Connecticut. Coverage: 1992-current. See Hartford Courant - Historical for coverage of older materials.
Hartford Courant - Historical This link opens in a new window
Full-page coverage from issue 1, volume 1 of the newspaper starting in 1764 with coverage to December 31, 1922. This searchable digital archive of more than 280,000 pages of important historical content offers article-level search results, article zoning and edited metadata, including headlines, bylines and first paragraphs.
Los Angeles Times - Current This link opens in a new window
This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc. Coverage: 1985 - Present
New York Times - Current This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage: 1980-current.
New York Times - Historical This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspaper-the definitive digital archive-offers full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. This resource covers the complete run of The New York Times, from the first issue in 1851 up to 2007, and includes millions of pages.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes Christian Science Monitor, the historical and current New York Times, Los Angeles Times, the historical and current Hartford Courant, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post.
News-Times Current and Historical Collection This link opens in a new window
Explore local history with our full-color digital archive of the Danbury News Times. You can search this archive in the library or remotely through the library website. Archival issues prior to 2019 are also available on microfilm. Coverage: 1951-current
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
ProQuest Historical Black Newspaper Collection
ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers is a collection of distinguished African American newspapers in the U.S. including the Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, Cleveland Call and Post, and Michigan Chronicle. The Louisville Defender will be added in late 2022. Coverage Range: 1893 - 2010
Stamford Advocate Current and Historical Collection
Research Stamford history through the Stamford Advocate Collection with coverage from 1829 through current. Study trends, issues, events, advertisements, companies and more through historical and current full newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Times Educational Supplement Historical Archive, 1910-2000
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Eastern edition and online versions. Updated daily.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post is a newspaper resource for news, political analysis, and coverage of national and international trends and events. Full-text coverage from 1987-present.