Guides: History Guide: Search Archives & Special Collections

WCSU Archives & Special Collections

Western Connecticut State University Archives and Special Collections

Our archive maintains the historical records of Western Connecticut State University dating back to its founding in 1903 as the Danbury Normal School and is a significant repository for collections related to local history. Collections include personal papers, local government, and organizational records, visual materials, maps, journals, various media, art, and artifacts. These archival holdings amount to approximately 1800 linear feet.

To browse the collections see the Archival Collections List. To search the descriptions of our collections at the WCSU Archives you may search our collections alone: (https://archives.library.wcsu.edu/public); Search collections including ours around CT (CAO [Connecticut’s Archives Online]); or you will find our collections in the WCSU Library catalog (WestSearch).

The Special Collections Library‘s holdings include:

monographs, and audio-visual materials that pertain to the history of Danbury, Connecticut, and the region
out-of-print or rare spoken word, opera, and other classical music phonograph recordings
a portion of the original monograph holdings of the Danbury Normal School’s library
monographs authored/created by WCSU faculty, students, and alumni
monographs that supplement subjects in our archival collections
rare/antique books and other objects donated to the Haas Library or Special Collections that are deemed to be 1) of significant artifactual value and 2) to be unique and essential to support the research needs of the University and the mission of the Archive; and library holdings of significant value to warrant special treatment.

There are approximately 9000 cataloged titles (discoverable via WestSearch) currently held in the Special Collections Library that range in publication date from 1626 to the present. The groupings of materials found in Special Collections are Connecticut Room (relating to CT history), Rare Books, Theses, LPs, and Facsimiles.

Other Archives and Special Collections

Connecticut Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA) is a digital repository program and community dedicated to the preservation, maintenance and delivery of a wide-range of digital cultural heritage resource from memory institutions in Connecticut. Collections include images and other primary source materials on Connecticut history.
Connecticut's Archives Online
Connecticut Archives Online (CAO) search brings researchers to primary source materials held in Connecticut’s libraries, universities, colleges, museums, and historical societies through one simple interface.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA connects people with America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. The materials available through DPLA include photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more for free and immediately available in digital format.
OpenDissertations (formerly American Doctoral Dissertations) This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations now includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. It is a free database with records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world. Full text of dissertations available by clicking on URL in each record to link to participating institution's digital collection.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (WCSU access) This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. Includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older works.