Guides: Management Guide: Entrepreneurship

Entrepreneurship Resources

Below you'll find a list of databases and resources containing content on entrepreneurship and small business related fields.

If you have any questions about navigating these resources, please book an appointment with a Librarian!

ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
Premier world-wide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more with nearly half full-text. Also, information on 60,000+ companies.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
State-of-the-art product provides Internet-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company information, with the latest in features and functions.
S&P Capital IQ
The Capital IQ platform provides research, data, and analysis on private and public companies to help finance professionals perform an analysis. This analysis may support transactions such as mergers and acquisitions, as well as investment recommendations, such as those made by equity research.
Please click "more" below to read instructions on accessing this resource for the first time.
Instructions for access:

1: You will need to sign up for an account at https://www.capitaliq.com/CIQDotNet/Registration/signup.aspx the first time you use this database
2: Enter your @wcsu.edu email address, the hit "submit"
3: Check your email. It may show up in your 'quarantine' box.
4: Reset your password. This may also show up in your 'quarantine' box.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, astute and easy to digest, IBISWorld's industry research reports offer the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly called LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to over 15,000 national and international news sources, business news, the Company Dossier, legal news and law review articles, It contains legal sources including Federal and State court cases, federal and state laws and regulations and access to Shepard's Citations service.

Small Business Administration
Government organization that provides information on starting a business, financing your business, loans and grants, how to write a business plan, dealing with taxes, employees and other important details.
Small Business and Entrepreneurship Council
Since 1994, SBE Council educates elected officials, policymakers, business leaders and the public about key policies that enable business start-up and growth. Through advocacy, research, media outreach, and education, SBE Council members and staff convey the importance of entrepreneurship to job creation, opportunity, economic growth and U.S. competitiveness.
SCORE
The Counselors of Ameria's Small Business Owners, national association dedicated to helping small business owners.

Guide to Small Business and Small Business Administration (SBA) Funding by Mark Woodard
ISBN: 9781681392912
Publication Date: 2015-02-27
A Guide to Small Business and Small Business Administration (SBA) Funding is a complete in-depth guidebook for small businesses and entrepreneurs, in any phase of operation, to use as a guide to complete a working business portfolio. This portfolio can be used in operations of the business and/or obtain funding for start-up processes and other funding needs. This book gives great information about small business itself including operations, entity types, and more. A Guide to Small Business and Small Business Administration (SBA) Funding gives detailed information on the Small Business Administration and its funding practices. The guide will assist in completing a comprehensive business analysis and portfolio including: business plans, marketing plans, applications, outlines, structure, forms, and other important documents.
Entrepreneurial Finance by M. J. Alhabeeb
ISBN: 9781118691519
Publication Date: 2015-02-02
Featuring key topics within finance, small business management, and entrepreneurship to develop and maintain prosperous business ventures With a comprehensive and organized approach to fundamental financial theories, tools, and management techniques, Entrepreneurial Finance: Fundamentals of Financial Planning and Management for Small Business equips readers with the necessary fundamental knowledge and advanced skills to succeed in small firm and business settings. With a unique combination of topics from finance, small business management, and entrepreneurship, the book prepares readers for the challenges of today's economy.
The Startup Playbook by David Kidder; Reid Hoffman (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781452105048
Publication Date: 2013-01-02
According to the Kauffman Index of Entrepreneurial Activity, more than 565,000 new businesses were created in 2010 in the United States alone--each one of them hoping to strike gold. The Startup Playbook will help them succeed. Going insider to insider with unprecedented access, New York Times bestselling author and Clickable CEO, David Kidder, shares the hard-hitting experiences of some of the world's most influential entrepreneurs and CEOs, revealing their most closely held advice. Face-to-face interviews with 40 founders give readers key insights into what it took to build PayPal, LinkedIn, AOL, TED, Flickr, and many others into household names. Special sections include topics ranging from how to select the right idea to pursue to finding funding and overcoming inevitable obstacles. In an economy demanding change, The Startup Playbook is the go-to for entrepreneurs big and small.
It's Your Business by J. J. Ramberg; Lisa Everson; Frank Silverstein
ISBN: 9781455509003
Publication Date: 2012-10-16
It's Your Business was an immediate Wall Street Journal bestseller and garnered tremendous media attention from entrepreneurs and small business owners. With advice from Ramberg and such notable entrepreneurs as Blake Mycoskie and Guy Kawasaki, this right-to-the-point book covers topics from human resources to finance, public relations to sales, and much, much more -- all geared towards the small business owner. Knowing that entrepreneurs have no time to waste, Ramberg presents simple and effective guidance that can be put to use right away. This book will be indispensable for every small business owner, from a family-owned store to a venture capitalist-backed start up.
Gale Directory of Early Stage Investment by Gale (Editor)
ISBN: 9781414496160
Publication Date: 2013-04-12
Gale Directory Of Early Stage Investment is a new directory that will cover the several types of early stage investors including: venture capitalists, business incubators, angel investors and angel groups, corporate investment divisions, crowd-funding and co-operative groups

Management Guide

Need Research Help?

Need to talk to a librarian about your research project?

Entrepreneurship Resources

Below you'll find a list of databases and resources containing content on entrepreneurship and small business related fields.

Instructions for access:

Further Reading/Information