Guides: Psychology Guide: Find Resources on the Web

Finding Resources on the Web

List of Web Resources
Google Scholar

Below you'll find a list of free web resources pertaining to Psychology.

Cambridge Open Access
Cambridge University Press publishes a wide range of high-quality academic content including including open access journals.
ETS (Educational Testing Services) Test Collection This link opens in a new window
Database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers. With information about tests from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest compilation in the world.
OpenDissertations (formerly American Doctoral Dissertations) This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations now includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. It is a free database with records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world. Full text of dissertations available by clicking on URL in each record to link to participating institution's digital collection.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.

Free APA Psychology Articles
Recently published articles from subdisciplines of psychology covered by more than 90 APA Journals™ publications.
The Open Psychology Journal
The Open Psychology Journal is an open access journal, that publishes research articles, reviews/mini-reviews, case reports, perspectives, letters and guest edited single topic issues in all areas of psychology. The journal’s coverage is comprehensive and includes applied psychology; biological psychology; clinical psychology; developmental psychology; experimental psychology (and cognitive neuroscience); educational psychology; mathematical psychology; social psychology; and psychoanalysis.
Project Guetnberg Open Access Psychology Books
Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free eBooks and continues to encourage the creation and distribution of eBooks.

Using Google Scholar for Research

You may have heard of, or even used Google Scholar in the past to search for articles. Like base Google, it can be a great tool when used correctly. Not everything that appears on Google Scholar will be accessible to you, so to make sure that it is, watch this video, or read the description below, to see how to connect the WCSU Libraries' catalog and list of databases to your search function:

Step-by-Step Google Scholar Guide

In addition to WestSearch and the libraries' subscription databases, Google Scholar can be a great way to find articles for your research. But if you want to be able to access full-text articles, you must update your settings in Google to link the search results to our libraries' databases.

1. Go to Google Scholar

2. Log in to your Google account

Google Scholar Sign-in Link