Guides: World Languages & Composition Guide: Guide Home

World Languages Resources

Books on World Languages

Physical Books on World Languages
A link to a canned search in WestSearch for books on "world languages" located in either the Haas or Young Libraries as part of our physical collection. This search is modifiable.
eBooks on World Languages
A canned search in WestSearch for full-text accessible eBooks on "world language." This search is able to be modified in order to narrow down which books are displayed.
Spanish Language Books
A canned search in WestSearch for Spanish Language books that are part of the WCSU Libraries' physical collection.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Ebook Central is the new platform for Ebrary collections and additional scholarly ebooks across academic disciplines.
eBook Collection on EBSCOhost (WCSU) This link opens in a new window
Search and view thousands of full text eBooks.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.

Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window
Referencia Latina is a general reference resource for Spanish speakers covering issues of particular relevance for Latin America, Spain and the United States.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Collins Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries in 5 languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Italian.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
EBSCO Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search all EBSCO provided databases simultaneously.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Communication Source (formerly Communication and Mass Media Complete) This link opens in a new window
Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains a comprehensive backfile (current issues not available) of scholarly journals, current open access articles, and select current scholarly journal subscriptions spanning more than 20 disciplines including business & economics, education, science, history, and language & literature - all in full text
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search all the ProQuest databases at the same time, including Dissertations, ABI, newspapers, criminal justice and more.
Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green search icon to the right of it.
Advanced Search: Select the “Advanced Search” tab located above the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
Boolean Logic & Filters: All ProQuest hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access filters in the advanced search tab or on the left side of the results screen after performing a search.
Citation Tool: Create an auto-citation by clicking on an article or record then selecting the quotation mark icon labeled “Cite” in the top right corner of the record. Select the correct citation style from the drop-down menu, then copy it into your paper or directly into a citation manager.
Saving Records: There are many options to save a record or article, view them all by clicking on the “three dots” icon labeled “All Options” in the right corner when viewing a record. Save records to PDF, print them, email them, create a permalink, and more.

WCSU Writing Center
Visit the Writing Center for free, one-to-one help with all your writing projects. We provide resources, strategies and techniques across disciplines and genres that help you improve your writing. We will work with you in person or online at any stage of your writing process, from understanding your purpose and brainstorming ideas to discovering revision strategies.
Citation & Formatting Assistance - Writing Center
Language Tutoring - TRC
Struggling with a language? Book an appointment with the Tutoring Resource Center (TRC)! Located on the second floor of the Haas Library, the TRC offers peer tutoring in over 15 disciplines!

World Languages & Composition Guide

Need Research Help?

Need to talk to a librarian about your research project?

World Languages Resources

Books on World Languages