Guides: World Languages & Composition Guide: Composition

Composition Resources

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains a comprehensive backfile (current issues not available) of scholarly journals, current open access articles, and select current scholarly journal subscriptions spanning more than 20 disciplines including business & economics, education, science, history, and language & literature - all in full text
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files. Updated regularly.
MagillOnLiterature Plus
MagillOnLiterature Plus provides access to literary works, reviewed critical analyses, and brief plot summaries tas well as all the biographies and author essays.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
OpenDissertations (formerly American Doctoral Dissertations) This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations now includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. It is a free database with records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world. Full text of dissertations available by clicking on URL in each record to link to participating institution's digital collection.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Cambridge Open Access
Cambridge University Press publishes a wide range of high-quality academic content including including open access journals.
EBSCO Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search all EBSCO provided databases simultaneously.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search all the ProQuest databases at the same time, including Dissertations, ABI, newspapers, criminal justice and more.
Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green search icon to the right of it.
Advanced Search: Select the “Advanced Search” tab located above the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
Boolean Logic & Filters: All ProQuest hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access filters in the advanced search tab or on the left side of the results screen after performing a search.
Citation Tool: Create an auto-citation by clicking on an article or record then selecting the quotation mark icon labeled “Cite” in the top right corner of the record. Select the correct citation style from the drop-down menu, then copy it into your paper or directly into a citation manager.
Saving Records: There are many options to save a record or article, view them all by clicking on the “three dots” icon labeled “All Options” in the right corner when viewing a record. Save records to PDF, print them, email them, create a permalink, and more.

Writing Course Reserves
Writing books on reserve at the Haas Library and Young Library.
Physical Books on Writing
A canned search for books on, and related to, writing that are part of the WCSU Libraries' physical collection.
eBooks on Writing
A canned search in WestSearch for full-text eBooks on, or related to, writing.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Ebook Central is the new platform for Ebrary collections and additional scholarly ebooks across academic disciplines.
eBook Collection on EBSCOhost (WCSU) This link opens in a new window
Search and view thousands of full text eBooks.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.

Dictionaries

Collins Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries in 5 languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Italian.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Featuring comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics, you'll find profiles of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works. Additionally, you can search for essays on publishing houses and literary topics.
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Online version of the popular dictionary.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, scholarly English-language dictionary based on historical principles, published by the Oxford University Press.

Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files. Updated regularly.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search across Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online and Literature Criticism Online for a single results list.
Glossary of Poetic Terms This link opens in a new window
This glossary of poetic terms is produced and maintained, with free access, by the Poetry Foundation.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
In-depth, original profiles combined with full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of source material (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). Biography Reference Bank offers a breadth and depth of information you’ll find in no other biography database. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
MLA International Bibliography (Language & Literature) This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.

Choosing a Topic

Identifying Main Concepts

Plagiarism & How to Avoid It

Full Library Tutorials Playlist (3-5 min videos)

Researching for your Argumentative Essay assignment?

Watch the recorded tutorial below to see how a librarian would spend time finding scholarly articles for that kind of research paper.

WCSU Writing Center

Located on the third floor of the Ruth A. Haas Library on the Midtown Campus! The Writing Center assists students with writing and formatting their papers no matter what discipline they're coming from or what topic they're writing about.

Click Here to be taken to the Writing Center's website.

Click Here to be taken to their appointment booking system. Note: The Writing Center asks that you reserve at least one hour between the end of your appointment and the due-time of your assignment.

Still not sure about the Writing Center? Hear about them in their own words:

Visit the Writing Center for free, one-to-one help with all your writing projects. We provide resources, strategies and techniques across disciplines and genres that help you improve your writing.

We will work with you in person or online at any stage of your writing process, from understanding your purpose and brainstorming ideas to discovering revision strategies. We can help you with:

reviewing assignment guidelines
generating and developing ideas
organizing long projects
organizing within and across paragraphs
evaluating and integrating research
documenting sources
improving sentence structure and style
recognizing technical errors
…and all other writing matters.

World Languages & Composition Guide

Need Research Help?

Need to talk to a librarian about your research project?