Scholarly Sources are authored by academics, experts in their field of study, usually affiliated with a college or university and are intended to be read by academic audiences such as professors, researchers, and students. Scholarly Articles are published in journals by a scholarly press or organization and have a narrow scope or are limited to a specific field of study with the goal of promoting scholarly research.
These sources have been edited by other experts in the field before publication, you'll often see them referred to as peer reviewed.
Below is a list of databases that contain journals, articles, and research related to World Languages & Composition.
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
Search all EBSCO provided databases simultaneously.
Search all the ProQuest databases at the same time, including Dissertations, ABI, newspapers, criminal justice and more.
Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green search icon to the right of it.
Advanced Search: Select the “Advanced Search” tab located above the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
Boolean Logic & Filters: All ProQuest hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access filters in the advanced search tab or on the left side of the results screen after performing a search.
Citation Tool: Create an auto-citation by clicking on an article or record then selecting the quotation mark icon labeled “Cite” in the top right corner of the record. Select the correct citation style from the drop-down menu, then copy it into your paper or directly into a citation manager.
Saving Records: There are many options to save a record or article, view them all by clicking on the “three dots” icon labeled “All Options” in the right corner when viewing a record. Save records to PDF, print them, email them, create a permalink, and more.
OpenDissertations now includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. It is a free database with records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world. Full text of dissertations available by clicking on URL in each record to link to participating institution's digital collection.
