Guides: Justice & Law Administration Guide: Guide Home

Quick Access Resources

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database focuses on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly called LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to over 15,000 national and international news sources, business news, the Company Dossier, legal news and law review articles, It contains legal sources including Federal and State court cases, federal and state laws and regulations and access to Shepard's Citations service.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline Academic provides access to multidisciplinary journals, periodicals, legal codes and reports in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more.
Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. This database will offer the everyday user the necessary tools and detailed instructions to independently address a wide-range of legal issues including business law, financial planning, family law, property & real estate and rights & disputes.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.

Justice & Law Administration Books on Reserve

JLA Course Reserves
A link to a canned search in WestSearch for all of the course reserves we have listed under the JLA program.

Recommended Titles from the WCSU Libraries

Multiculturalism and the Criminal Justice System by Robert Hanser; Michael Gomila
ISBN: 9780132155977
Publication Date: 2014-02-27
This contemporary text addresses a wide range of diverse groups in society as they relate to the criminal justice system. Multiculturalism and the Criminal Justice System, 1e, is the contemporary text that addresses diversity and multicultural issues in the policing, judicial, correctional, and juvenile justice segments of the criminal justice system. This text contains numerous visual aids that showcase data that is current and relevant. Unlike the competition, this text is comprehensive in its portrayal of various minority groups, addresses the issues from a systemic view of criminal justice, is practitioner-driven, and is well organized. Teaching and Learning Experience This book fulfills the need for a thorough and up-to-date text on multicultural issues facing criminal justice practitioners. It provides: Comprehensive content: Students will learn about multiculturalism in a manner that has both breadth and depth U p-to-date coverage of multi - cultural issues facing criminal justice practitioners : Examines perspectives from the practitioner, offender, and victim vantage point Exceptional pedagogical tools and support for flexible approaches to teaching and learning:Encourages students to develop critical thinking skills with numerous examples and exercises, and makes class preparation quick and easy with innovative features for instructors
Restorative Justice Today by Katherine S. van Wormer (Editor); Lorenn Walker (Editor)
ISBN: 9781452219912
Publication Date: 2012-08-17
Restorative Justice Today: Applications of Restorative Interventions takes a hard look at the issues and concepts surrounding restorative justice and current restorative practices used in a broad range of areas today. In a time when the cost of prisons and jails is on the rise resulting in more offenders being kept out of the community, this timely and contemporary book exposes readers to a range of restorative practices that can be implemented. The authors, renowned experts in the area of restorative justice, provide information not found in other restorative justice texts.
Judicial Reconstruction and the Rule of Law by Angeline Lewis
ISBN: 9789004228115
Publication Date: 2012-08-27
The idea of building a blueprint 'rule of law' through military intervention has seized the imagination of practitioners and theorists alike in the past decade of peacebuilding operations, and an emphasis on simultaneous judicial reconstruction and security sector reform has emerged as their central strategy. This work, in a fresh approach based on recent military operations in Iraq and beyond, challenges both the universality of the blueprint and the doctrinal assumption that institutional reform by military interveners builds peace and legitimacy. In a comprehensive review, the essential role of the community in developing its own relationship with law, while interveners refocus exclusively on restoring public security using their extraordinary powers under international humanitarian law, emerges as the only future for 'rule of law operations.'

OpenDissertations (formerly American Doctoral Dissertations) This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations now includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. It is a free database with records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world. Full text of dissertations available by clicking on URL in each record to link to participating institution's digital collection.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
American Bar Association: Legal Technology Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Free full-text online law review/journal search. Amount of content varies with each publication title.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside
Hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years
Human Rights Watch This link opens in a new window
Human Rights Watch is known for its accurate fact-finding, impartial reporting, effective use of media, and targeted advocacy, often in partnership with local human rights groups. Each year, Human Rights Watch publishes more than 100 reports and briefings on human rights conditions in some 90 countries, generating extensive coverage in local and international media. With the leverage this brings, Human Rights Watch meets with governments, the United Nations, regional groups like the African Union and the European Union, financial institutions, and corporations to press for changes in policy and practice that promote human rights and justice around the world.
Manual of Style for the Connecticut Courts, 3rd Edition
This revised edition (May, 2013) of the Manual of Style for the Connecticut Courts was prepared by the Office of the Reporter of Judicial Decisions for use in the writing, editing, and publishing of opinions of the Connecticut Supreme and Appellate Courts.
Supreme Court of the United States This link opens in a new window
The official website of the Supreme Court. Fully searchable, plus links to recent decisions, the court docket, court rules, and general information.
USA.gov This link opens in a new window
USA.gov is a platform for searching across multiple government agencies for information on statistics, services, and more.

Justice & Law Administration Guide

Need Research Help?

Need to talk to a librarian about your research project?

Quick Access Resources

Justice & Law Administration Books on Reserve

Recommended Titles from the WCSU Libraries