NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Find bibliographic information and abstracts of more than 230,000 collection resources, including over 80,000 online materials and all known Office of Justice Programs' works
Human Rights Watch is known for its accurate fact-finding, impartial reporting, effective use of media, and targeted advocacy, often in partnership with local human rights groups. Each year, Human Rights Watch publishes more than 100 reports and briefings on human rights conditions in some 90 countries, generating extensive coverage in local and international media. With the leverage this brings, Human Rights Watch meets with governments, the United Nations, regional groups like the African Union and the European Union, financial institutions, and corporations to press for changes in policy and practice that promote human rights and justice around the world.
Fatal Encounters - Fatal Encounters was created by a journalist/professor in Reno, Nevada who intends to help create a database of all deaths through police interaction in the United States since Jan. 1, 2000. Casual researchers can browse through the data here. It is not a finished product. It's just the first step toward creating an impartial, comprehensive and searchable national database of people killed during interactions with law enforcement. This site will remain as impartial and data-driven as possible.
People Counted - an investigation by the Guardian to reveal " the true number of people killed by law enforcement." The Guardian US is the American version of the The Guardian, a British daily newspaper. which was founded in 1821 as The Manchester Guardian. Along with its sister papers The Observer and The Guardian Weekly, the Guardian is part of the Guardian Media Group, owned by the Scott Trust.
Mapping Police Violence - "This information has been meticulously sourced from the three largest, most comprehensive and impartial crowdsourced databases on police killings in the country: FatalEncounters.org, the U.S. Police Shootings Database and KilledbyPolice.net. We've also done extensive original research to further improve the quality and completeness of the data; searching social media, obituaries, criminal records databases, police reports and other sources to identify the race of 91 percent of all victims in the database."
Fatal Force - a database of people killed by police compiled by the Washington Post. It covers the years since 2015 and can be search by state, race, gender, age, body camera etc.
Over the Line - Police Shootings in Georgia - A year-long investigation by The Atlanta Journal-Constitution and Channel 2 Action News exposed flaws in the way the state handles police shootings and led to grand jury reform that Gov. Nathan Deal signed into law in April 2016. Reporters analyzed thousands of pages of records and conducted more than 100 interviews with prosecutors, police, grand jurors, family members and others in the most comprehensive review of police shootings in Georgia history.
Chicago Tribune Shot by Chicago Police - This database of people shot by Chicago Police Department officers and shooting incidents comes from a number of sources: A database of shooting victims, the officers who fired shots and details of each shooting compiled by Chicago Police Department detectives, Data about individual shooting events from the Independent Police Review Authority (IPRA), Investigation summary reports from IPRA', Police reports, and Court records.
Office of the Maine Attorney General - Police Shooting Reports.- contains the Report of the Attorney General's Task Force to Review Deadly Force Incidents, ( 1/28/2019), and an achive of police shooting incidents.
Florida's Orlando Sentinel - search results for articles containing the phrase "suspect shot"
City of Orlanda, Florida Police Dept. - OPD Officer Involved Shootings - This Data includes all officer-involved shootings since 2009. Transparency is a priority for the Orlando Police Department and we will continue to include more information in this Dataset. Starting in 2014 Chief of Police John W. Mina mandated that all officer-involved shooting investigations are reviewed by the State Attorney's Office. A link to the State Attorney's review letter is provided for investigations that are complete. Prior to 2014 only cases where the someone was hit as a result of the shooting were reviewed by the State Attorney's Office. All other cases were reviewed internally. A link to those findings are provided.
Minneapolis, Minnesota - Police Officer Involved Shootings - data provided by the City of Minneapolis.
Seattle, Washington - Officer Involved Shootings Dashboard. Data.Seattle.Gov makes high value, machine-readable datasets created by the City of Seattle available for public use. The following sets created by the Seattle Police Department are available, Public Data Sets web page.
Sacramento, California - officer-involved shootings (and other incidents of force resulting in serious injury or death).Officer Involved Shootings and other instances of force resulting in serious injury or death are a significant event for officers and the community. Extensive resources are dedicated to these events to ensure an accurate, thorough, and transparent investigation takes place. Regardless of the circumstances surrounding such an incident, it is imperative that the event is diligently reviewed and the actions of the officers are thoroughly evaluated.
Texas Attorney General Reports and Publications - officer involved shootings. This section seeks to improve transparency by providing access to public data and reports published and collected by the Office of the Attorney General through high-value data sets. The Attorney General encourages the use of public data that is complete, timely, and primary. None of the publications are protected by copyright. Certain data sets are not available through this portal as the data is private, confidential, or excepted from disclosure under applicable state and federal laws.
Serial.Cloud - the Serial Killers Database, an ongoing research project which aims to sort and classify serial killers based on documented references from books written about serial killers as well as other online resources listed at the bottom of each killers profile page. The database currently contains 622 serial killers that are classified into serial killer types. Serial killer types are based on acts committed during a killers serial spree such as: torture, sexual assault rape, stalking, strangulation, consumption of human flesh or organs cannibalism, consumption of human blood vampirism, and/or sexual assault after death necrophilia. Killers can belong to more than one serial killer type.
Radford / FGCU Serial Killer Database - research project based at Florida Gulf Coast University. In 1992, Dr. Mike Aamodt started to collect and code data on serial killers. Today, the database is the largest non-governmental serial murderer database in the world. It contains 3304 subjects, comprising of serial killers, mass murderers, spree killers and more. The database has over 9000 victim profiles and over 500 documents. but is no longer available to the public. Annual reports are compiled by FGCU professors and available on ReasearchGate, a free website for scholarly research.
Murderpedia - the encyclopedia of murderers - Murderpedia is a free online encyclopedic dictionary murderers and the largest database of serial killers and mass murderers around the world.
Crime Museum - Crime Library. The Crime Museum is an educational resource on law enforcement, crime, and forensic history, and supports museum and education related exhibits and programming. Crime Museum operates the Natalee Holloway Resource Center, the Crime Library, with over 2.5 million annual pageviews, and is a repository for famous crime and law enforcement related objects. Its Crime Library contains profiles of many notorious serial killers.
Biography.com - Infamous Serial Killers - Every life has a story. Biography.com captures the most gripping, surprising and fascinating stories about famous people. The web site has created a page detailing the lives and crimes of the more notorious serial killers.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service - enter "Serial Killers" in the search box - search results list materials found or referenced throughout the site on the subject of "serial killers."
Wikipedia - has three articles with data on serial killers. 1) List of Serial Killers by Country - -notable criminals, listed by country where they committed the most murders 2) List of Serial Killers in the United States 3) List of serial killers by number of victims - does not include killers only active before 1900. Be aware that these may not be up to date and references may not be complete.
NAF - National Abortion Federation - Violence page - Information on anti-abortion violence and laws passed as a result of those violent acts.
Anti-Abortion Extremists - Anti-abortion extremists have attempted to use violence against abortion providers to advance their own personal and political agendas. They have injured and murdered health care workers across the country and intimidated and harassed patients who need reproductive health care. This information has been compiled by the NAF on the individuals and groups who have committed these violent acts.
Violence Statistics and History - The NAF has been compiling statistics on incidents of violence and disruption against abortion providers since 1977. Their comprehensive database is an invaluable resource that enables us to detect changes in the patterns and trends in anti-abortion activities
New Jersey . Office of Homeland Security and Preparedness - analysis of anti-abortion extremists.
"anti-abortion" - web site search results for "anti-abortion" materials.
"anti-abortion extremism" - SPLC web site search results for "anti-abortion extremism"
Rewire.com - anti-abortion news Rewire.News is an award-winning, nonprofit daily online publication devoted to evidence-based reporting on reproductive and sexual health, rights, and justice, and the intersections of racial, environmental, immigration, and economic justice. We publish news, analysis, and investigative reporting created by professional journalists, editors, and multimedia experts. We also offer vigorous commentary, debate, and opinion rooted in fact and considered thinking.
Rand Database of Worldwide Terrorism Incidents. The RAND Database of Worldwide Terrorism Incidents (RDWTI) is a compilation of data from 1968 through 2009. Terrorism Incidents Database Search
Our World in Data - Terrorism. Our World in Data is a non-profit website that brings together the data and research on the powerful, long-run trends reshaping our world. For clarity, the Data Quality & Definitions section carefully outlines the definition used in constructing the dataset presented here and compares it with the legal definition in the UK. While acts of terrorism across the globe have increased markedly in recent decades, in most parts of the world it continues to be a relatively rare event and is instead focused in particular countries or regions of instability.
Global Terrorism Database - The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START) at the University of Maryland makes the GTD available via this online interface in an effort to increase understanding of terrorist violence so that it can be more readily studied and defeated. Unfortunately, State Dept. funding was not renewed so data is only available through 2017. The US State Department has used this data to issue its Country Reports on Terrorism.
Additional information and resources compiled by The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START) can be found here.
UCDP - Uppsala Conflct Data Program by the Uppsala University Department of Peace and Conflice Research. The data can be ivewd by country, fatalities, State-based violence, Non-State based violence, and one-sided violence.
CPost - Chicago Project on Security and Threats at the University of Chicago. The CPOST Suicide Attack Database, the foundation upon which the institute was built, comprises the most complete list of suicide attacks since 1974 currently available. We are proud to make our data freely available to the public. This allows users to review and analyze the complete set of suicide attacks independent of CPOST’s
EU Terrorism Situation & Trend Reports (Te-Sat) - Reviewing the terrorism phenomenon.
Europol’s annual EU Terrorism Situation and Trend Report (TE-SAT) provides an overview of the terrorism phenomenon in the EU in a given year.The fight against terrorism is a top priority for the EU and for Europol, and that means that TE-SAT is one of Europol’s most significant pieces of strategic analysis.It offers law enforcement officials, policymakers and the general public facts and figures on terrorism in the EU, while also identifying developing trends in this crime area, based on information that Member States make available to Europol.
Country Reports on Terrorism - issued by the U. S. Department of State. U.S. law requires the Secretary of State to provide Congress, by April 30 of each year, a full and complete report on terrorism with regard to those countries and groups meeting criteria set forth in the legislation. This annual report is entitled Country Reports on Terrorism. Beginning with the report for 2004, it replaced the previously published Patterns of Global Terrorism.
