Guides: Justice & Law Administration Guide: Find Cases & Statutes

Find Cases & Statues

Connecticut Judicial Branch Case Lookup
Connecticut legal resources, including cases, statutes, etc.
New York State Courts Decisons
This site provides access to a comprehensive collection of officially published New York court decisions from January 1, 1980 to the present

Supreme Court of the United States This link opens in a new window
The official website of the Supreme Court. Fully searchable, plus links to recent decisions, the court docket, court rules, and general information.
govinfo This link opens in a new window
govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly called LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to over 15,000 national and international news sources, business news, the Company Dossier, legal news and law review articles, It contains legal sources including Federal and State court cases, federal and state laws and regulations and access to Shepard's Citations service.
USA.gov This link opens in a new window
USA.gov is a platform for searching across multiple government agencies for information on statistics, services, and more.

State Laws - Legal Information Institute
List of links to the laws of each state. A free-access site serving as a gateway to US and state laws (linking to the US. Code, The Code of Federal Regulations), court opinions and current awareness on legal issues. Search feature and links to Key and all US Supreme Court opinions, federal courts opinions, etc. Highlights recent law events and opinions. "the Institute is a non-profit activity of Cornell Law School supported by grants, the consulting work of its co-directors, and gifts."
Oyez
Current and historic Supreme Court cases available at website sponsored by the Cornell and Chicago-Kent Law Schools. Use the "Term" box to change the date range. Search box at top of screen allows search by case name.

Connecticut Statutes and Public Acts
published by the Legislative Commissioners Office of the Connecticut General Assembly
United States Code
The Office of Law Revision Counsel provides information on the code and a search function.
State laws - links to state websites
Connecticut Judicial Branch Law Libraries
Links to help for searching Connecticut state statutes and public acts

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly called LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to over 15,000 national and international news sources, business news, the Company Dossier, legal news and law review articles, It contains legal sources including Federal and State court cases, federal and state laws and regulations and access to Shepard's Citations service.

Laws and Legislation

General Statutes of Connecticut
REF KFC 3630 1958 .A224 (Haas and Young)
Connecticut General Statutes Annotated
(West's) / REF KFC 3630 .A4
Public and Special Acts
(CT) / REF KFC 3625 .P8 (Haas )
Summaries of Public Acts
Office of Legislative Research, Connecticut General Assembly.
United States Statutes at Large
from 1950 - and at Haas Library REF KF 50 .U52

Laws and Regulations Online

Commercial Law
Commercial law is the broad area of law that covers virtually all business, commerce, and consumer transactions. Historically, the term commercial law tends to emphasize merchant relations with consumers or broader trade, but the term frequently is used to refer to any law that addresses business, including law protecting consumers.
General Statutes of Connecticut
Available from the Connecticut General Assembly website
Laws of New York State
The site is maintained by the New York State Legislature
United States Code
The Office of Law Revision Counsel provides information on the code and a search function.
State Laws - Legal Information Institute
List of links to the laws of each state. A free-access site serving as a gateway to US and state laws (linking to the US. Code, The Code of Federal Regulations), court opinions and current awareness on legal issues. Search feature and links to Key and all US Supreme Court opinions, federal courts opinions, etc. Highlights recent law events and opinions. "the Institute is a non-profit activity of Cornell Law School supported by grants, the consulting work of its co-directors, and gifts."
U. S. Code of Federal Regulations
eCFR - regulations of the Federal government agencies
Connecticut State Library Law and Legislative Reference Services
Links to many Connecticut government resources.
Connecticut General Assembly Advanced Legislative Document Search
Search for new bills with their reports and studies, for new laws that haven't yet been compiled into the statute volumes.

Justice & Law Administration Guide

Need Research Help?

Need to talk to a librarian about your research project?

Find Cases & Statues

Laws and Legislation

Laws and Regulations Online