Guides: Marketing Guide: Marketing 200

MKT200 Course Resources

BEST DATABASES

ABI/Inform Complete
Premier world-wide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more with nearly half full-text. Also, information on 60,000+ companies.
Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.

Data Axle Reference Solutions
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: ReferenceUSA
Contains directory information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses.
GlobalData Explorer
GlobalData's Explorer is a comprehensive database including cross-sector and market data such as sector activity indicators and global ads, expert analysis, thematic research, business fundamentals, and alternative data such as tenders, job analytics. GD Explorer meets the needs of multiple disciplines and departments with cross sector coverage.

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly called LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to over 15,000 national and international news sources, business news, the Company Dossier, legal news and law review articles, It contains legal sources including Federal and State court cases, federal and state laws and regulations and access to Shepard's Citations service.
PrivCo
PrivCo is the premier source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. It also tracks venture backed acquisitions and IPO's of formerly private companies.
S&P Capital IQ

The Capital IQ platform provides research, data, and analysis on private and public companies to help finance professionals perform an analysis. This analysis may support transactions such as mergers and acquisitions, as well as investment recommendations, such as those made by equity research.
Please click "more" below to read instructions on accessing this resource for the first time.

Instructions for access:

1: You will need to sign up for an account at https://www.capitaliq.com/CIQDotNet/Registration/signup.aspx the first time you use this database
2: Enter your @wcsu.edu email address, the hit "submit"
3: Check your email. It may show up in your 'quarantine' box.
4: Reset your password. This may also show up in your 'quarantine' box.

IBISWorld
Comprehensive, astute and easy to digest, IBISWorld's industry research reports offer the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
Key Business Ratios (D&B)

Provides annual financial performance ratios for the industry categories defined by the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system with additional breakdowns by asset size where available. Used to compare a company's performance against its industry/competitors or see trends in industry performance over time.
MRI Simmons Insights
MRI Simmons Insights is a profiling system providing results of national probability samples of U.S. consumers' buying habits and preferences for specific consumer goods. Includes demographic characteristics and media audiences.

GlobalData Explorer
GlobalData's Explorer is a comprehensive database including cross-sector and market data such as sector activity indicators and global ads, expert analysis, thematic research, business fundamentals, and alternative data such as tenders, job analytics. GD Explorer meets the needs of multiple disciplines and departments with cross sector coverage.

Marketing Guide

MKT200 Course Resources

Instructions for access: