Guides: Databases: Nursing, Medicine, and Allied Health

Databases for Nursing and Health

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® Ultimate is comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health research and provides expanded full text access to journals in the CINAHL index. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
MedLine 1966 - present This link opens in a new window
Premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. Includes information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Ovid Nursing Journals This link opens in a new window
The Ovid Nursing Collection provides access to a collection of high-quality nursing journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed indexes and abstracts more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of full-text journal articles in the from the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM). This resource also includes content from NASA's PubSpace repository.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 500 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (WCSU access) This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. Includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older works.

Trial Databases

Reference Databases for Nursing and Health

Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Nursing Reference Center Plus provides information on evidence-based nursing practices for staff nurses and nurse educators. Content includes continuing education, access to original research, and up-to-date information on patient care.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
DSM Library (Psychiatry Online) This link opens in a new window
The standard diagnostic tool used by mental health professionals worldwide to promote reliable research, accurate diagnosis, and thus appropriate treatment and patient care. Each psychiatric disorder with its corresponding diagnostic code is accompanied by a set of diagnostic criteria and descriptive details including associated features, prevalence, familial patterns, age-, culture-, and gender-specific features, and differential diagnosis.
Films On Demand: Nursing Current Concepts and Practices Collection
The Nursing Concepts and Practices Collection is designed to help nursing students prepare for licensing exams and for long-term job success. It features titles from trusted producers such as Medcom-Trainex, Elsevier, Cengage Learning/Concept Media, Classroom Productions, Inc., NEVCO, Wolters Kluwer Health, Institute for Professional Care Education/Medifecta, PESI, Inc., and others.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments Database (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, HaPI is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from Education are included. HaPI Records provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, & more.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Nursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection This link opens in a new window
The Nursing and Mental Health in Video Collection is a collection of videos to help nurses learn to understand, assess and manage mental health issues that often present themselves alongside physical conditions.
Psychotherapy.net
Psychotherapy.net is a resource for training and continuing education for therapists. Our subscription provides a library of 100 training videos featuring the leading practitioners of the field as well as articles, interviews, blogs, and more.
Mometrix eLibrary
Mometrix eLibrary provides unlimited, simultaneous access to Praxis exam study materials.