Guides: Databases: Math & Computer Science

Periodical Article Indexes - Magazines, Journals, Newspapers

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM DL is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet® provides access to reviews written by a staff of professional mathematicians as well as abstracts and bibliographic information for literature published in the mathematical sciences.
CiteSeer This link opens in a new window
Scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeer aims to improve the dissemination and feedback of the scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.
ArXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive and distribution server for research papers in the areas of physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science and quantitative biology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains a comprehensive backfile (current issues not available) of scholarly journals, current open access articles, and select current scholarly journal subscriptions spanning more than 20 disciplines including business & economics, education, science, history, and language & literature - all in full text
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.

Reference Materials - Dictionaries, Encyclopedias

webopedia This link opens in a new window
Webopedia is a free online dictionary for words, phrases and abbreviations that are related to computer and Internet technology. It provides easy-to-understand definitions in plain language so that the site is accessible to users with a wide range of computer knowledge. Full-time experienced editors gather information from standards bodies, leading technology companies, universities, professional online technical publications, white papers and professionals working in the field.