Guides: Databases: Sciences

Periodical Article Indexes - Magazines, Journals, Newspapers

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM DL is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.
ACS Web Editions This link opens in a new window
The Publications Division of the American Chemical Society provides the worldwide scientific community with a comprehensive collection of the most-cited, peer-reviewed publications in the chemical and related sciences.
ArXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive and distribution server for research papers in the areas of physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science and quantitative biology.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. GoogleScholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains a comprehensive backfile (current issues not available) of scholarly journals, current open access articles, and select current scholarly journal subscriptions spanning more than 20 disciplines including business & economics, education, science, history, and language & literature - all in full text
MedLine 1966 - present This link opens in a new window
Premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. Includes information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This database is the APA's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed. Topics included are Pharmacology, Psychiatry, Business, Education, and Law. Currently indexes over 2,500 journals. Articles for which full-text is not available can be ordered via interlibrary loan.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed indexes and abstracts more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of full-text journal articles in the from the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM). This resource also includes content from NASA's PubSpace repository.
Science Full Text Select
Science Full Text Select provides full text for more than 400 journals covering agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.

Trial Databases

Reference Materials - Dictionaries, Encyclopedias

All About Birds: Bird Guide This link opens in a new window
Searchable field guide to the bird species of North America, with keys to identification. Maintained by the Cornell University Lab of Ornithology. Includes sound and video clips.
Convention on Biological Diversity This link opens in a new window
Information on all aspects of the CBD, the Cartagena Protocol, the Nagoya Protocol, and related programs, including country profiles and program fact sheets, maintained by the CBD Secretariat.
NASA's Data Portal This link opens in a new window
NASA's catalog of publicly available datasets, APIs, visualizations, and more!
Periodic Table of Elements This link opens in a new window
This interactive periodical table includes links to reference information about each element.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Reaxys is a web-based tool for the retrieval of chemistry information and data from published literature including journals and patents. The information includes chemical compounds, chemical reactions, chemical properties, related bibliographic data, substance data with synthesis planning information, as well as experimental procedures from selected journals and patents.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive research database provides easy access to a wealth of full-text, science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
SciFinder-n
Users must register while on campus to create username and password. Once registration is complete, users may access the database from off-campus using the (proxied) link.
SciFinder WCSU Registration
SciFinder provides access to articles, reference information, and patents in chemistry and related sciences.
United States Geographical Survey (USGS) This link opens in a new window
The United States Geographical Survey providing reliable, scientific, geological information by mapping, collecting and analyzing data, and monitoring natural resource conditions, issues, and problems

Image Databases

Cell Image Library This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB), this open-access crowdsourced collection of images and multimedia files is browsable by cell process, cell component, cell type, and organism. The database also provides basic- and advanced-search options, and a free “Cell Library” app for iPhone and iPad users.
NOAA Photo Library This link opens in a new window
A classified collection of thousands of high-resolution photographic images collected by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
Photojournal: NASA's Image Access Home Page This link opens in a new window
NASA's public service interface for the Planetary Image Archive (PIA), maintained by the Jet Propulsion Laboratory at the California Institute of Technology. Searchable high-quality images collected over the years by NASA's exploration programs.