Guides: Databases: Business

Company and Industry Information

Data Axle Reference Solutions
Contains detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly called LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to over 15,000 national and international news sources, business news, the Company Dossier, legal news and law review articles, It contains legal sources including Federal and State court cases, federal and state laws and regulations and access to Shepard's Citations service.
PrivCo
PrivCo is the premier source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. It also tracks venture backed acquisitions and IPO's of formerly private companies.
S&P Capital IQ

The Capital IQ platform provides research, data, and analysis on private and public companies to help finance professionals perform an analysis. This analysis may support transactions such as mergers and acquisitions, as well as investment recommendations, such as those made by equity research.
1. You will need to sign up for an account the first time you use this database
2. Enter your @wcsu.edu email address, the hit “submit”
3. Check your email. It may show up in your 'quarantine' box.
4. Reset your password. This may also show up in your 'quarantine' box.

Periodical Databases

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
ABI/Inform Complete
Premier world-wide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more with nearly half full-text. Also, information on 60,000+ companies.
Academic Search Premier

This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
CQ Researcher
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
JSTOR
Contains a comprehensive backfile (current issues not available) of scholarly journals, current open access articles, and select current scholarly journal subscriptions spanning more than 20 disciplines including business & economics, education, science, history, and language & literature - all in full text
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly called LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to over 15,000 national and international news sources, business news, the Company Dossier, legal news and law review articles, It contains legal sources including Federal and State court cases, federal and state laws and regulations and access to Shepard's Citations service.
OpenDissertations (formerly American Doctoral Dissertations)

OpenDissertations now includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. It is a free database with records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from around the world. Full text of dissertations available by clicking on URL in each record to link to participating institution's digital collection.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.

Faculty Research

Cabells Scholarly Analytics
Use Cabells' Predatory Reports - a directory of journals with predatory practices to verify resource quality and protect your work! The Journalytics helps you find quality publications and match your manuscript to the right publication based on your topic, the type of review process, acceptance rate, impact factor, and more.
Cabells Scholarly Analytics assists you in selecting journals that are most likely to publish your manuscript.

Legal Information

Criminal Justice Database
This comprehensive database focuses on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.
Legal Information Reference Center

Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. This database will offer the everyday user the necessary tools and detailed instructions to independently address a wide-range of legal issues including business law, financial planning, family law, property & real estate and rights & disputes.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly called LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to over 15,000 national and international news sources, business news, the Company Dossier, legal news and law review articles, It contains legal sources including Federal and State court cases, federal and state laws and regulations and access to Shepard's Citations service.

Accounting and Financial Information

Checkpoint: Tax and Finance Research
Integrated resource for students and tax professionals alike; includes practice development tools and authoritative analysis.
Morningstar Investment Research Center

Get comprehensive financial information on New York Stock Exchange, American Stock Exchange, and NASDAQ stocks. Also find comprehensive financial and investing information on thousands of mutual funds, including the Morningstar star rating.

Access limited to 5 user sessions at a time.
Key Business Ratios (D&B)

Provides annual financial performance ratios for the industry categories defined by the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system with additional breakdowns by asset size where available. Used to compare a company's performance against its industry/competitors or see trends in industry performance over time.
S&P Capital IQ

The Capital IQ platform provides research, data, and analysis on private and public companies to help finance professionals perform an analysis. This analysis may support transactions such as mergers and acquisitions, as well as investment recommendations, such as those made by equity research.
1. You will need to sign up for an account the first time you use this database
2. Enter your @wcsu.edu email address, the hit “submit”
3. Check your email. It may show up in your 'quarantine' box.
4. Reset your password. This may also show up in your 'quarantine' box.
CEIC CDMNext
CEIC provides access to global economic data, indicators, charts, and forecasts. "This platform curates the best and most relevant economic, industry and financial data for economists and investment professionals to track and gain genuine insight into what is happening in their markets – with a particular focus on emerging economies."
IMF eLibrary

Note - click on "IMF ELibrary" at top of first page. The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF's periodicals, books, working papers, studies and data and statistical tools. It includes information on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more. To download data, sign in with your name and WCSU email address. Click on "customer service" button. You will be brought to general databases screen after that. Click on IMF and you will be in the IMF database again.

Marketing Information

IBISWorld
Comprehensive, astute and easy to digest, IBISWorld's industry research reports offer the very latest content on every U.S. industry. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.
MRI Simmons Insights
MRI Simmons Insights is a profiling system providing results of national probability samples of U.S. consumers' buying habits and preferences for specific consumer goods. Includes demographic characteristics and media audiences.
RMKA Market Research Reports
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) publishes handbooks, in e-book format, focused on marketing and consumer behavior.
Market Share Reporter
Presents comparative business statistics. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.

News

Wall Street Journal (Web Edition)

Web edition of the Wall Street Journal.
Users will need to create an account using the link given. There are a lot of pages urgin the user to sign up for optional alerts and newsletters, but most of these pages are skipable.

Users will need to create an account using the link given.
Wall Street Journal
Full-text of the Eastern edition and online versions. Updated daily.
New York Times - Current
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage: 1980-current.
New York Times - Historical
ProQuest Historical Newspaper-the definitive digital archive-offers full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. This resource covers the complete run of The New York Times, from the first issue in 1851 up to 2007, and includes millions of pages.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly called LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to over 15,000 national and international news sources, business news, the Company Dossier, legal news and law review articles, It contains legal sources including Federal and State court cases, federal and state laws and regulations and access to Shepard's Citations service.
Regional Business News

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.

Country Information

CEIC CDMNext
CEIC provides access to global economic data, indicators, charts, and forecasts. "This platform curates the best and most relevant economic, industry and financial data for economists and investment professionals to track and gain genuine insight into what is happening in their markets – with a particular focus on emerging economies."
IMF eLibrary
IMF Country Information - The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.

IMF Country Information - The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.