Guides: Databases: Reference & Statistics

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Directories

Collins Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries in 5 languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Italian.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 200 videos.
Glossary of Poetic Terms This link opens in a new window
This glossary of poetic terms is produced and maintained, with free access, by the Poetry Foundation.
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Online version of the popular dictionary.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, scholarly English-language dictionary based on historical principles, published by the Oxford University Press.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Formerly Grove Music Online. Oxford Music Online is a new gateway that offers users the ability, for the first time ever, to access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford's music reference in one location. The cornerstone of Oxford Music Online is Grove Music Online, but also includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Current News

New York Times - Current This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage: 1980-current.
Hartford Courant - Current This link opens in a new window
Daily newspaper from Hartford, Connecticut. Coverage: 1992-current. See Hartford Courant - Historical for coverage of older materials.
News-Times Current and Historical Collection This link opens in a new window
Explore local history with our full-color digital archive of the Danbury News Times. You can search this archive in the library or remotely through the library website. Archival issues prior to 2019 are also available on microfilm. Coverage: 1951-current
Chicago Tribune - Current
This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc. Coverage: (1985 - Present)
Los Angeles Times - Current This link opens in a new window
This publication's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc. Coverage: 1985 - Present
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Eastern edition and online versions. Updated daily.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post is a newspaper resource for news, political analysis, and coverage of national and international trends and events. Full-text coverage from 1987-present.
Christian Science Monitor This link opens in a new window
A major newspaper covering national and international news and noted for unbiased, concise, and comprehensive coverage. Coverage: 1988-current. NOTE: Changed from a daily to a weekly paper in 2009.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes Christian Science Monitor, the historical and current New York Times, Los Angeles Times, the historical and current Hartford Courant, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly called LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to over 15,000 national and international news sources, business news, the Company Dossier, legal news and law review articles, It contains legal sources including Federal and State court cases, federal and state laws and regulations and access to Shepard's Citations service.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database has records for nearly 18,000 periodicals - journals, magazines, and newspapers - of which nearly 16,000 are peer reviewed. It provides full text for more than 5,000 journals, and you can use Journal Finder to locate articles that do not have a PDF readily available.
- Basic Search: Preform a basic search by entering keywords into the search bar then clicking on the green "SEARCH" button.
- Advanced Search: Click on the blue "Advanced Search" link below the search bar to add filters and multiple keywords before you begin searching.
- Boolean Logic & Filters: All EBCSO hosted databases allow you to narrow and expand your search using Boolean operators and filters. Access them in the advanced search option or on the left side of the results screen.
- Citation Tool: Access the citation tool by clicking on the title of an article or record, click on the file icon labeled "Cite" located in the "Tools" bar, then select the correct citation style from the dropdown menu.
- Saving Records: All saving options can be seen by clicking on the title of an article, viewing the detailed record, then looking at the righthand bar labeled "Tools." EBSCO allows users to print, save PDFs, email articles and create permanent links to the record.
Project Syndicate This link opens in a new window
Project Syndicate provides syndicated news analyses and commentaries from around the world. The organization receives support from the Gates Foundation and the European Climate Foundation with the goal of supporting the growth of global independent news media.

Statistics

USA.gov This link opens in a new window
USA.gov is a platform for searching across multiple government agencies for information on statistics, services, and more.
Explorer
GlobalData's Explorer is a comprehensive database including cross-sector and market data such as sector activity indicators and global ads, expert analysis, thematic research, business fundamentals, and alternative data such as tenders, job analytics. GD Explorer meets the needs of multiple disciplines and departments with cross sector coverage.

Databases: Reference & Statistics

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Directories

Current News

Statistics

Dissertations & Theses

Career