Guides: Measurement Tools in Research: Scholarly Databases & Descriptions

Databases to Use to Find Test Reviews and Info

Utilize Databases to Find Test Reviews and to Access Journal and Research Literature on Your Test!

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print (TOP PICK FOR ACCESSING FREE FULL TEXT TEST REVIEWS!)

Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing.Mental Measurements Yearbook
MMY via EBSCOhost includes the MMY Archive providing all yearbooks from the first edition in 1938 through the present edition, raising the total number of full text reviews available on the product to over 10,000.
Tests in Print: Also produced by the Buros Institute, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Educational Resources for MMY/TIP: Includes guides for using MYY/TIP to find a resource as well as Using a Mental Measurements Yearbook Review to Evaluate a Test.

Produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, this comprehensive bibliographic database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. It also provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from Industrial Organizational Behavior and Education.
Records contained in HaPI provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques and more.

The ERIC database contains journal articles that may analyze/evaluate an education measurement instrument, or may document a study utilizing a particular instrument. An article on your topic may refer you to a particular test. Some articles may include the actual test instrument being discussed, particularly the article in which the initial creation and validation of the instrument is reported. To limit your results precisely in ERIC, use the Publication Type limiter and choose "Tests/Questionnaires." Most of these results will be classified as ERIC documents.

Subject access to instrument citations
Contains research articles using instrument and evaluating instruments
Access to selected instruments
To limit results precisely in PsycINFO, use the TM (Tests & Measures) search field in the advanced search option. Enter a topic or test name in the search field.

PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
Selected test reviews and test information and analysis.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.

SSCI is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences, including education.
offers powerful citation referencing feature

Research instrument documents include descriptions of research instruments, clinical assessment tools, psychological tests, attitude measures and more. The analysis includes purpose and variables measured, the number of items and questions, the sample population, methodology, how to obtain, and the source of the instrument.
On the NRC homepage, click on Practice Resources Tab. on the next page there will be a link to Research Instruments.

DATABASES FREELY AVAILABLE ON THE WEB

These are free to search for instruments and tests, but there could be a cost to obtain the actual instrument or test.

The ETS TestLink is a database of more than 25,000 citations/descriptions of tests and other measurement devices. With information about tests from the early 1900s to the present, ETS claims to offer the largest compilation of such materials in the world.
ETS TestLink corresponds to the ETS Test Collection housed at ETS. ETS has permission to distribute over 1,200 tests in the collection (to downloaded you may be required to pay a $25.00 fee). You should contact the publisher, individual or other source listed in the availability field to obtain permission to use the other 95 percent.The tests in this collection were acquired from a variety of U.S. publishers and individual test authors. Tests produced internationally are also included, including some from Canada, the United Kingdom, and Australia.

Full text sources, 140 resources with nearly 14,000 measures available in full text; from University of Texas, Arlington